I only ran 2.8ish miles this morning.

Even after running 10 half marathons, I am still surprised when the words “I only ran 3 (or 4, or 5, etc.) ” come out of my mouth.

Because I remember when 1 mile seemed impossible.

Heck, just last October, after being injured going into a half, I took a couple of weeks off running. And I started back running with week 5 of C25K – run 1/2 mile, walk 1/4 mile, run 1/2 mile, etc. 13.1 seemed so far away.

Yet here I am; I ran 2 halfs in May! Without injuring myself!

Why am I blathering on? Because you CAN do it. It isn’t easy; sometimes it isn’t pretty; sometimes it’s downright painful. I like to say if I can do it, anyone can do it. I truly believe that. If you want it bad enough, you’ll make it happen.

Start slow. It’s better to be slow in the beginning. I promise you that the day will come when you, too, say “I only ran 3 miles today.” Running will get under your skin. I swore I’d never race, I’d never do a half . . . and here I am.

Well, I have said I’m never doing a marathon unless I get faster.

Leave a Reply

