Tuesdays on the run: Hot Weather Running Tips.

image

Erika @ MCM Mama Runs hosts Tuesdays on the Run with April @ Run the great wide somewhere and Patty @ My no-guilt life!

This week’s topic is Hot Weather Running Tips.

I hate the heat. I hate cold even more.  I grew up in upstate NY (and presently am living there again) & I made sure that almost all the companies I interviewed with in college were down south. Then we lived in TX for 17 years – I’m not sure I would have started to run if I still lived in TX!

My worst halfs, time wise, for the most part, have been the ones where it suddenly got hot (or a freak heat wave): Heartbreak Hill 2014 & ZOOMA Annapolis 2015 (just a couple of weeks ago!).

So I’m still struggling to run well in heat, but here are my tips:

  1. You can’t acclimate to the heat if you don’t run in it. So suck it up buttercup! It’s really tempting to retreat to the treadmill (sort of), but that will make hot running harder.
  2. Pour cool water over your head before you start to run. Soak your hat/visor. If you use something to wipe the sweat off, dunk that in cool water too – I did that for Annapolis & it felt amazing!
  3. If you’re racing & it’s a hot day, consider carrying water with you even if you never race that way – but practice it first, of course. I ran Redding Road Race 2015 without my trusty water bottle because I left the damn thing sitting in our garage, so I decided I’d use the water stops at Annapolis, too. I knew it would be a hot day so I brought my small handheld water bottle too & it saved my bacon – they ran out of cups at one water stop & out of water at another!
  4. If you do use a handheld at a race, you should ask them to refill it for you – I did at Annapolis & that allowed me to still have water when they were out. Some volunteers are ready for this; most aren’t, but volunteers are the best – they’ll make it happen.
  5. An interesting tip I read AFTER Annapolis: sitting in a sauna for 30 minutes will help you acclimate to heat, too. There’s a sauna where I swim & I love saunas & use it when I go. I’m not sure I could stand (or sit, as the case may be) in it for 30 minutes – it’s a good day if I manage 10 – but it’s good to know going forward.

I would love to hear your hot running tips! Because I am determined to break through this mental barrier.

3 thoughts on “Tuesdays on the run: Hot Weather Running Tips.

  1. I live in Az. and it’s supposed to be 108 next week. I am up at four and usually out the door by 4:30 for my runs/bikes and even swims to avoid being in the sun. When I am training for something long tho I have to jump off the bike after a three hour ride and run – so I don long sleeves, or arm coolers, a large hat and lots and lots of sunscreen. It’s a dry heat until the monsoons kick in mid summer-and yes I carry water with me. I’ve lived here for almost 40 years so am acclimated pretty much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

