Running musings & Thinking out loud Thursdays

  • Is it just me, or does it seem like the nicest days are the days you don’t run? And you see lots of runners on those days?

  • Yesterday I did my cross training: 30 minutes of swimming. Which took 2 hours, because I had to drive there & back, dry off, change, enjoy the sauna & eat a snack afterwards because swimming always makes me hungry. No wonder people don’t cross train!

  • I get ravenous after most short runs & often lose my appetite after a long run & of course after a short run I really don’t need a snack while after a long run I really do; one of running’s little mysteries.

  • A run is never just a run for me: it’s warming up with the stick, dynamic stretching, walking to cool down, post run exercises & foam rolling. I’m so envious of those of you who can just run.

  • We spend all winter complaining about the cold, then all summer complaining about the heat. It’s weather amnesia, I tell ya.

  • Is it just me, or does it seem like most dietitians are young? I need someone my age who understands the very real struggles of being past your 30s (and 40s, and so on) to advise me.

  • I’ll admit it: there are times when I think running is a selfish waste of time. I know this isn’t true, but admit it – you think it too.

Thursdays are for thinking out loud

10 thoughts on “Running musings & Thinking out loud Thursdays

  1. Weather amnesia — oh, I like that. I definitely spend a lot of time complaining about the heat in the summer, but not so much complaining about the cold. I think it’s because I have an easier time dealing with the cold, whereas the heat just renders me useless. I do love the extra long days, though!

    Like

  2. I don’t foam roll (yet) but would not dream of skipping my dynamic warm-ups, after run cool-down walk, post run stretches, or cross-training. We older ladies are ultra-cautious, are we not?

    Like

    1. I read your about page . . . we have a lot of differences & a lot in common! I love dogs, for instance & eat everything but lean vegetarian as I lime to say – I eat vegetarian a lot but still eat meat, too. I’m not saying there aren’t any older nutritionists, but it seems like most are in their 30s & aren’t truly going to understand the struggles of someone 50+.

      Like

  3. I think the reason I usually run at least 4 or 5 miles for a short run is because it takes so long to get going. Eat, drink, use the facilities, stretch, dress, gear up with all the electronics…no way after all of that preparation am I going to just run 2 or 3 miles. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Oh, I’ll be heading out for just a bit over 2 miles shortly. And doing all that stuff. Being a slow runner, a 30 minute run is only 2+ mile for me. Which is just another reason I wish I were an average runner, forget fast.

      Like

Leave a Reply

