10 Years ago I wasn’t a runner – Friday Five

Today I’m linking up with Cynthia from You Signed Up for What?, Courtney from Eat Pray Run DC, and Mar from Mar on the Run for a stroll down memory lane – Friday Five: 5 things I was doing 10 years ago.

ZOOMA Annapolis
Crossing the bridge – the first time – at ZOOMA Annapolis. I don’t think I could have mustered that smile even for the camera the second time.
  1. It’s really kind of hard to believe, but 10 years ago I did not have dogs (I wasn’t a runner, either). I was, however, actively searching for the right rescue dog. We had lost my elderly cat, Puss, to kidney disease at age 21. We had our 2 younger cats, who were 4 years old. I didn’t want a puppy, having never raised one, but we weren’t having much luck finding a dog who would fit in with the boys.

    Lola
    Lola
    Chester
    Chester
  2. I was still working. I had my own graphic design business (not really terribly successful) & I was the About.com Guide to graphic design.

  3. I had just bought a new computer so I was deep in the midst of moving over files. While I still use that computer, we did finally buy a new computer for us to share, so guess what I’m doing again? Things really do come full circle: when I first started my business we shared a computer. As I got busier I needed my own computer, but now I don’t since I don’t work & can blog on my tablet.

  4. We were living in Austin, TX, which we loved, in a house I loved & we truly thought we might retire there. And as of 6 years ago we live in upstate NY. As much as we loved Austin, I don’t think we’ll retire there & we do not plan to retire here, either,  unless things go very wrong!

  5. We were going to Vegas every February for the Creative Painting Convention. Love Vegas, used to paint, now I run.

Your turn! What were you doing 10 years ago?

19 thoughts on “10 Years ago I wasn’t a runner – Friday Five

  1. I was mostly a treadmill runner and I think the longest I’d gone back then was maybe 6 miles. I’ve heard great things about Austin, yet I’ve never been there.

    Like

    1. In TX you’d have to be a treadmill runner! And 6 miles on a treadmill is a looooong run. I think I once did 8 but now it’s rare for me to do anything more than 4 on the mill.

      Austin was great! And gas changed a LOT since we lived there. We’ve only been back once . . . for me to run a half, of course. 🙂

      Like

  2. Love Austin. We’re going to visit my hubby’s bf soon. They live in Round Rock to be exact.
    10 years ago I was a restaurant manager with a lot of late nights and not much fitness in my life. Glad the tides have turned.

    Like

    1. She was as lot of work! I wish Chester would live that long, but he’s in heart failure so right now I’m just hoping for 10, which is in a few months. My cat is 14 & seems pretty healthy for his age. We have friends with a lab who’s 16!

      Like

  3. I was not a runner yet but had just started going to the gym and beginning my journey to become a healthier person. We were going to Jamaica that year too and I wanted to be fit for that trip. I had no dogs at that time either. That is so hard to imagine now.

    Like

  4. It’s so crazy how things change! It’s hard for me now to remember a time without my puppies. Lola and Chester are so cute!

    I’ve only been seriously running for about a year and a half, but I love how it’s changed my life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

