2015 – the injury free year? – Tuesdays on the Run

image

Erika @ MCM Mama Runs hosts Tuesdays on the Run with April @ Run the great wide somewhere and Patty @ My no-guilt life! Today we’re examining our 2015 goals & where we’re at with them.

I love my Believe Journal from Lauren Fleshman & Roisin McGettigan-Dumas. I also enjoy picky bars post run on a fairly regular basis, by the way. It’s more than a running journal – there’s a place to reflect on each week & each month; a topic for every month; writing prompts & exercises; goal setting for the year, for races; quotes & more!

There is space for four goals, but I only wrote three:

  1. Keep track of my weekly mileage. And for the first time, I’ve managed to do this so far. Somehow a handwritten journal seems to be working better for me than apps have in the past. Or maybe I just got more serious this year. We’ll see if I keep it up through the end of the year.
  2. Stay injury free! So far, so good, but I didn’t get injured until the fall last year. I am trying to take steps to make sure this goal is met: watch my mileage (see goal#1), dynamic warmups, post run injury preventative exercises, visit the chiropractor regularly, listen to my body! Not to mention running less mileage this year.
  3. Get below 130. Why does weight matter? I am at a healthy weight for my height . . . just barely. And I just feel better running when I am at a healthy weight. Unfortunately, this is a tough nut to crack & I came close – but no closer than I’ve been for the last year. Maybe I need to adjust this goal to simply  get down to 130 right now.

The journal also has space for goals for each race & I spend some time prior to my races thinking about my goals for the race, like these for this week’s race, The Firecracker 4:

  1. Run with someone (a lot of people from my running group run it)
  2. Finish injury free (only 4 miles)
  3. PR (unlikely – it starts late & will probably be warm)

I often set weekly goals, as well. I’m a firm believer that what you believe, you achieve. Clearly I have my work cut out for me: I need to believe I can lose more weight, stay injury free & get faster. Now it’s also time to buckle down & get ‘er done!

How are your 2015 goals coming along? What roadblocks have you encountered? Which goals have you crushed?

22 thoughts on “2015 – the injury free year? – Tuesdays on the Run

  1. I’m completely with you on staying injury free – my goals were very much around ‘running sensible’ and listening to my body, although I’ve currently got a niggly achilles so it isn’t completely working. I love the sound of your journal too – will have to check it out!

    Like

    1. The journal is pretty awesome & it’s not actually tied to the calendar. I get achy hips from time to time too, but so far nothing major, knock on wood. Good luck with the Achilles (not time for new shoes yet?).

      Like

      1. I used it as an excuse to get new shoes but didn’t actually “need” them. I think it was more likely that I upped my mileage too quickly 😦

        Like

  2. I am just completely out of sync with my posts and the link ups this week! I have my ‘goals’ post prepared for publication on Friday. Sigh…anyways, I’m in good shape with the goals so far. But I have that mother of all goals looming over my head, that sub-4 marathon…

    Like

    1. Hey, write what’s in your heart, right? As a baby blog, link ups are seriously helping me right now. I really wasn’t planning on getting so far into my blog so quickly.

      I’m putting my money on you doing a sub-4. I know you have it in you.

      Me, I’d just like to get faster. Someday I’d like to run in the main pack of my running group.

      Like

  3. That’s great that your journal is keeping you on track. I use Nike+ and Runkeeper (for the treadmill), and I’ve been hooked for years! It really is valuable.

    Congrats on staying non-injured! I’ve been injury-free for a year and some change now and it makes me so happy. It’s the little things that keep you healthy!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So far I have been injury free all four years of my running life (knock on wood—knock, knock). I believe my late start in life (fifty-nine) means not so much wear-and-tear on my joints/muscles. I think, too, that my never missing my daily stretching regimen (well, six days a week…On the seventh day;, She rested), pre-run dynamic routine and post run stretches are a huge factor.

    My first year I had a bit of discomfort in my hips, but since adding IT band stretches that has been eliminated.

    I do listen to my body and adjust. Just these past few weeks, for example, I’ve had a lot of problems with my shoulders blades and discomfort radiating down to my upper arms. It occurred to me that it is possible that full body push-ups and planks might be more of a strain on this old bod than a help at this point. This morning I eliminated those two from my routine and the discomfort is minimal and none in my arms. We’ll see. Perhaps after a week or so I can add modified push-ups and modified planks.

    Listening to one’s body is an ongoing process.

    I don’t keep a journal, but am faithful with adding my mileage/pace to my Garmin site. I also keep a record on excel. Up until last year I was working toward PRs, but this year am only keeping track of mileage and pace. I am in a different place this year, no doubt about that.

    I am actually slightly underweight (after a lifetime of weight problems, my top weight being 190, being underweight is REALLY weird), so losing weight is not an issue. Always watching, though. I’ve actually put on a few pounds, which is good. Last summer I was down to 115. At 5’7″, it’s a little low, but my physician was not concerned, as I am active and eat really well. Now at 121, I feel just about right.

    Sometime later in the season when the weather cools, I would still like to run one single mile under nine minutes. I have created a variety of playlists, each one a bit faster than the last. We’ll see if that works. I would greatly like to have someone pace me, but that has not worked out. Other than that, my goal now is to run three times a week: two 5Ks and one 2 miler, one yoga session, one treadmill walk. At this time in my life, I feel as though this is the best course.

    Like

    1. How I wish staying injury free was so simple for me, because I do all that & still end up injured sometimes. But I’m glad it works for you.

      I’m pretty darn sure I will never be underweight unless I’m seriously ill & obviously I do not wish for that. Sometimes being 5’1″ seriously sucks. 115 is definitely too thin for you – that was the lowest weight I ever got too & I was almost too thin!

      My shoulder blade is bothering me too; how weird is that? It took me a while to figure out that anything laying on my side is aggravating it – and unfortunately many of my preventative exercises are just that! But I’ve dropped those for the time being. And hope to see the chiropractor soon, which reminds me I need to call & make the appt.

      Like

      1. I wondered if the side planks were an aggravation to the shoulder/arm problem, but I did them this morning (30 seconds per side, as usual) without residual problems. For me, anyway, I think it’s the push-ups, probably even more than the planks. I do ten, and by the time I get to the last one it’s a real strain.

        I’d love to know how you far with your adjustments regarding this particular issue.

        I noted before that you mentioned you were small. You appear tall in your photos. Funny how the mind plays tricks on us.

        Like

      2. I get that a lot – people thinking I’m tall from my photos. Nope, vertically challenged!

        My shoulder aggravation is different – push ups are fine, but anything laying on my side – like clamshells or leg lifts – I’m in so much pain I can barely move. And I don’t have back problems. And it’s perfectly fine as long as I don’t do exercises laying on my side. Never had this before.

        Like

  5. That journal sounds cool! I always seem to have trouble tracking my miles in the summer – probably because I usually slack during the summer, but this year, I’m training for a fall race. So far, 2015 has treated me right in the fitness front, but I gained 5 pounds at Christmas and can’t seem to shake them. Ugh.

    Like

  6. I’m battling my first real running injury. After taking some time off, I’m looking to building back up throughout the summer and into the fall. I will keep my fingers crossed that you stay injury free too!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

