Running for ice cream & racing: 6/29 – 7/5 Weekly Update

  •  
    Gizmo hanging in his carrier  at the vet
    Nope, not getting out of here

     Monday: Another busy day. Walked the dogs than ran an easy 3 miles in my new Newtons & sparkle skirt using 4 minute/30 second run/walk intervals. Off to the vet again, this time with Gizmo. Having a geriatric cat & 2 senior dogs is time consuming! Made a healthy strawberry “shortcake” from a recipe in our town’s weekly newsletter.

  •   Tuesday: Chore intensive day. No ant sightings until I saw a few in the living room in the evening. Baked Chocolate Plaintain Protein Donuts this time. I give my husband his breakfasts in the mornings in an attempt to get him to eat something healthy, hence the baking – that & I like to bake. And eat. A little too much.
    Hill repeats with my USAFit group. We met up at a different location which was nearer to my home. Rain threatened, but didn’t deliver, unfortunately, because it was sticky. My Garmin rebelled yet again & since I was in a group & couldn’t wait, I never got a signal – no idea how long I ran, how far, or how fast I did my repeats – all I do know is I did 8 of them & it was hard. And sure worked up an appetite. Afterwards we went out to dinner.
  • Wednesday: A very rainy day. Worried ants, but no sightings. Gizmo decided I needed to be up early in the morning, so I figured I might as well do some yoga. A little strength training later, more chores, and a cross training swim in the afternoon.
  • Thursday: I spent way too much time on my feet working on our dessert for Saturday.
    I met up with Darlene from My First 5k & More for an evening easy run. Easy for her,  not so much for me. She’s so much faster than me, even when she is running easy. Even when she’s running ahead of me. A little worried I ran too hard before my race on the fourth. The ice cream was good, though. 🙂
  • Banana Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies
    Banana Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

    Friday: Rest day, which means chore day. But I tried to get most of the chores done in the morning so I could relax a little in the afternoon – worked out pretty well. I had some ripe bananas so I made these cookies, which I make on a regular basis – great way to use up ripe bananas; actually, I have a lot of ways I use up ripe bananas.

  • Firecracker 4 start
    Firecracker 4 start

    Saturday: See my recap of my race, the Firecracker4. Apparently running with Darlene is good luck for me, even if it’s hard. Spent the rest of the day watching movies & relaxing. I was tired from the race & from a few nights of poor sleep. Made a simple “patriotic” dinner of hot dogs.

  •  
    Chester being dried off after his bath
    Chester imitates Yoda

     Sunday: Finally a nice day. We did a little rearranging in our family room that my husband has been after me to do for a while, then took the dogs with us to a local nursery so I could get a companion for my blueberry plant and fill in some other areas around our home. Washed the dogs, & grilled some steak & shrimp for dinner.

This week’s mileage: 13 or thereabouts; Garmin not playing nice this week. Feeling good & very pleased with my race.

I’m linking up with Tara at Runningnreading.com for her Weekend Update.

How was your holiday (if you celebrated) weekend? Did you run? Race?

14 thoughts on “Running for ice cream & racing: 6/29 – 7/5 Weekly Update

  1. Sounds like a great week! I always like to get chores done early in the day, especially over a holiday weekend. It was so nice having the extra day off! Thats frustrating that your garmin has been giving you problems, but still sounds like you got some good workouts in!

    Like

  2. I think the plantain donuts look great but probably too much work for me.

    If the banana cookie recipe is gluten-free I’d appreciate you sharing!

    My fave way to use up bananas is to peel them, break in half, freeze on a plate. Then bite/cut the frozen banana into chunks, top with dollops of your fave nut butter & sea salt, re-freeze for an hour or so. Yummy finger food for late night reading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

