5 Fitness Trends I Won’t Try

Today I’m linking up with Cynthia from You Signed Up for What?, Courtney from Eat Pray Run DC, and Mar from Mar on the Run for 5 things I won’t try. I like trying stuff, but there are plenty of things I won’t do.

  1. A Juice Cleanse
    I think there are times to eat cleaner than normal – say, after a holiday – but I have no desire to get all my calories through liquids.

  2. Anything involving mud!
    You’ve seen the saying “slower than a herd of turtles running through peanut butter”? I feel that way when I’m not running through mud! Not to mention I pay damn good money for these running shoes!

  3. Triathalon
    I love to swim & inevitably the next question is when are you going to try a tri? I don’t bike. Bikes scare me. True, I can – and have – fallen running, but only once (well, twice, technically, but it was on the same run), but it seems to me that spills are more frequent with bikes. Probably stems back to the time I fell on my bike on our gravel driveway as a kid.

  4. A 24 Hour Race
    I don’t want to do a full marathon because I don’t want to run that long. I need my sleep. It would really have to be a damn good cause to get me to run an entire day without sleep

  5. Laughter Yoga
    Love me some yoga, but seriously?

I love to try all sorts of new things: new food, new clothes, new ways of eating, new exercise DVDs. But I’m not an adrenaline junkie. So there are also lots of things I won’t try. I am on the fence about things like Ragnar. Not that anyone has been beating down my door about it, although I have been asked in an offhand sort of way. People do seem to love it. But I like my sleep.

Are you trendy? What fitness trends have you tried? Did you like them? What are your thoughts on Ragnar?

12 thoughts on “5 Fitness Trends I Won’t Try

  1. I agree on all counts! No juice cleanses, smoothies, or shakes. Give me some food. I. Don’t. Do. Dirty. No mud (or Spartan) for me. I don’t have the stamina for a triathlon, not even a sprint. More importantly, no desire. I’d love to do a half marathon, but 24 hours? Once more, no desire. Yeah, laughter yoga doesn’t do it for me, either. Nothing wrong with it, of course, but not my taste. One of the things I like best about yoga is the quiet and Peace.

    Like

  2. I have not heard of laughter yoga. Unless you mean that everyone would be laughing AT me while trying to do those ridiculous poses. I agree with the NO mud. And for me, NO color bombs either! Have a wonderful weekend.

    Like

  3. Juice cleanse….no…for the same reason…I’d rather eat my calories. Mud run, no…I didn’t like the color me rad thing. Triathlon, no….I can’t swim and I’m afraid to ride fast on the bike. 24 hour race, no….it would take me that long to run a marathon. That laughter yoga page is just scary, so no. See, we are sisters. I do remember than run when you fell. At least we had a good lunch.

    Like

  4. I do like trying new fitness trends, but I’m a definite no on crossfit. I don’t mind biking so a triathalon is intriguing to me but I don’t know how to swim, so that holds me back. Laughter yoga? Never heard of it!

    Like

  5. After my first few marathons all of my friends asked me when I was going to attempt a triathlon. I told them everyone would laugh at the lady in the water wearing water wings so I would pass… I can swim, but not well, and my doggie paddle/thrashing style swimming just wouldn’t cut it! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

