Scenes from my local runs

image

Erika @ MCM Mama Runs hosts Tuesdays on the Run with April @ Run the great wide somewhere and Patty @ My no-guilt life! Today I’m going to share with you some of the places I run. Again. And again. And again. . . . Winter is a little limiting in these parts.

Winter series at SUNY Albany
Winter series at SUNY Albany

SUNY Albany running series. Free supported runs during the winter I’m so grateful for – even if running there is boring! Usually there’s snow. So there aren’t a lot of places to run that are cleared in the winter. Plus there’s food & water (often frozen) on the course.

Firecracker 4 in Saratoga
Firecracker 4 in Saratoga

I don’t get up to Saratoga too often to run, since it’s 30 minutes away. Which is a shame – it’s a nice place to run! Not that you can tell from this race photo.

Bike path
Bike path

Local bike path along the Erie Canal. I spend way too much time running here: the attraction is it’s mostly flat & you don’t have to worry about cars. It’s not really all that scenic. Better than running in my neighborhood, though – but I don’t have to drive anywhere when I run in my neighborhood, so I run there are lot.

Not to mention I walk the dogs in my neighborhood almost every day

Church
Church

A church on one of my regular running routes near my neighborhood.

The Crossings
The Crossings

A local park I run at/through a lot. It’s very pretty & close to home.

Along the Mohawk River
Along the Mohawk River

Although short, this is one of my favorite local running paths. Being by the water is always soothing to me.

Corning Preserve
Corning Preserve

Another favorite running path. I don’t get down here as often as I’d like. During the winter there’s snow that isn’t cleared. During the summer I run with my running group & we usually only run here once or twice during the summer.

It’s near downtown Albany & kind of creepy during the week, which is why I don’t run there during the week, but on the weekend there are plenty of runners.

There’s a nice natural area called the Pinebush, but it’s supposed to be full of ticks so I’ve never run there. It’s also a little further away. One of my dogs in in heart failure & on diuretics, so I’m a little limited in how long I can be away from home. Lucky for him I no longer work.

Are you limited in where you can run where you live, or do you have lots of trails (in which case I hate you)? Most of our trails are just too far away for me to go to on a regular basis.

18 thoughts on “Scenes from my local runs

  1. I have good options – mostly different parts of the Mt. Vernon Trail or running through the city – but my neighborhood routes are pretty limited since I’m in between busy roads.

    Like

  2. I am in the neighborhood 90% of the time, it’s not scenic but it works. I don’t have any paved paths close by. When I visit my mom they have a path that is so nice, I wish I had a place to run like that where i could avoid traffic.

    Like

  3. You have some nice places to run. We do have a few trails sort of close but only 1 that is about 2 miles away that we can run to. The rest require at least 15+ minute drive.

    Like

  4. I love all those photos! I agree, being near a body of water is so soothing! Looks like you have some wonderful routes (and some great running spectators in those ducks!). Thanks for linking up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

