It’s getting kind of parched around here: 7/13-19

We’ve had so much rain this summer, I didn’t realize how dry this week actually was until my zucchini started to die. And zucchini are pretty hardy! I was so focused on watering our new plants that I just didn’t even notice that the garden needed watering, too.

RIP, zucchini.

Monday

Had a good run, despite struggling with the interval timer on my iPod & being very slow – some of that was due to the timer; ultimately it was negative splits.

Some strength training, a little recovery yoga; ultimately an uneventful day. Which I needed after last week!
Tuesday

Hill repeats & yup, another rain threat. We’re still dry (except for the sweat). 10 this week.

Wednesday

A nice relaxing swim. The pool will be close for 3 weeks in a month. Why can’t they do maintenance in the winter? And kettlebells.

Thursday

I met up with My First 5k & More again. Yup, again! It was really a lovely evening to run. She slowed down a little to stay with me for part of the run, which helped me reach my tempo pace.

Friday

I accomplished a lot, but I also got some  much needed rest. It’s been a bit of a whirlwind this week. Just walked the dogs, chores around the house, a quickie kettlebell sesh.

Saturday

A cut back week so only 5 miles. I actually took the dogs for a short walk before I left since we weren’t meeting until 7 am and the day was supposed to heat up rapidly and rain was in the forecast.

Had another good run and actually was under 13 mm, which is good for me. I have to keep an eye on it and make sure I don’t push too hard on my long runs; it’s gotten me into trouble before.

Then home, another short dog walk, and quickie shower & I was supposed to meet up with my sister-in-law & niece in Saratoga, only they were having some issues so I waited . . . and waited . . . and waited . . . and we ended up meeting for a very late lunch. Which was my dinner.

Garmin Vivoactive
Garmin Vivoactive

Sunday

Another lazy Sunday. Well, if walking the dogs & doing grocery shopping before 10 am is lazy. The only thing I hate more than food shopping on the weekends is having to shop when it’s crazy busy.

And then finally at some point during the day (or night), my new Garmin Vivoactive was delivered. I kept checking our doorstep, listening, then finally a 9 pm I actually went out to the mailbox where it was waiting who knows how long?

Then I spent way too much time trying to set it up, mainly because I had to keep deleting stuff off my phone to get the GarminConnect App on & I don’t even have that much stuff on my phone! And you can’t move the app to an SD card. Which means I have more work to do on my phone. So I ended up going to bed way to late, but I did get it set up finally.

I’m linking up with Tara at Runningnreading.com for her Weekend Update.

Do you run with a GPS watch? Which one? How do you feel about it?

20 thoughts on “It’s getting kind of parched around here: 7/13-19

  1. Ahh the heat is getting annoying down here. We were so spoiled and now we are looking at at least 5 or 6 days where the temperature will be reaching the 100s.

    Like

    1. Thankfully up here, the heat doesn’t usually stay around too long. And it won’t this time, either. I just hadn’t realized how long it had been since it rained (which was rectified last night).

      Like

    1. It’s speedy for me, too. But it was only 5 miles & the funny thing was I wasn’t even looking at my watch at all. So far so good with the vivoactive. All 1 day. Gets a signal really quickly which is such a nice change of pace for me (so to speak).

      Like

  2. Wow, 3 weeks does seem a bit much!
    I like the new Garmin active 🙂 very nice. How nice you meet up with Darlene, it’s always good to have a run buddy.

    Like

  3. I had no idea it was that dry there, Judy; good grief. We did finally get some rain last week; it didn’t last long, but we got over two inches of it. Great job on your training and I LOVE your new watch! I have a Garmin Forerunner 220; I love it. Thanks so much for linking up with the blog; hope your week is off to a great start!

    Like

    1. We had a lot of rain at the beginning of summer, & it’s threatened a lot lately, but last night was the first time in maybe a week since it actually rained. Yup, we always want what we don’t have, right?

      Like

  4. Why would they close a pool for maintenance in the summer? Ridiculous. I’ve had a Garmin 110 for a while. I picked it initially because I thought the face was bigger (and I could read it) than the other models at the time. It’s still going strong.

    Like

    1. I had/have the 110, too. I picked it because it wasn’t too expensive & really didn’t know I was going to be running so much! Day 1 with the new watch: so far so good. It’s a GPS watch, a fitness tracker & I can swim with it (or so it says). The pool is an indoor pool . . . but still!

      Like

  5. Oh, no, poor zucchini! I gave up on my tomato plants. They weren’t getting enough sun. Then an animal stole the green tomatoes. Then they got too parched after a few days without rain …. I have the Garmin Vivosmart and plenty of room on my iPhone 5S. I still use the Garmin Forerunner 10 for running. How are you liking the Vivoactive so far?

    Like

    1. It’s only been a day so far actually, but I really like it so far! I’m curious – why are you using the 10 for running?

      My tomatoes, strawberries & peppers are doing good so far. That could be the problem, too – overcrowding. We’ll seem I have a few more baby zucchini going & we’ll see what happens. Plenty of sun where they are!

      Like

  6. I have a Nike GPS phone and I love it. Very simple yet has never let me down… speed, distance and it has an app. It took me a long time to figure out the website though, I kept having to install Nike+ on my computer… every singe time I wanted to upload my data. finally figured it out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

