What sparked inspiration in me

Deb Runs

Character cannot be developed in ease and quiet. Only through experiences of trial and suffering can the soul be strengthened,  vision cleared, ambition inspired and success achieved.

–Helen Keller

I’m sure a lot of bloggers will be writing about runners that inspire them. And yes, there are definitely runners that inspire me. As I sat & pondered inspirational, I decided to write about the social media site I used before I joined Facebook: SparkPeople.  I met so many inspirational people and it helped inspire me to get back to a more healthy lifestyle and lose some 30 odd pounds – not to mention it inspired me to become a runner..

When I joined SparkPeople, I wasn’t a runner and I wasn’t on Facebook. I was looking to connect with people interested in a healthy lifestyle, most specifically with people trying to lose weight, like myself.

One of the things I loved about SparkPeople was that it’s a closed site; it’s not open to the world, like Facebook. It felt safer. Of course you get your trolls anywhere, but there seemed far fewer there.

You can do many things with SparkPeople: track your food, your exercise, join groups, journal (aka blog), and much, much more. I have journaled/blogged for years, in one way or another. I don’t consider myself to be a great writer, and I am often humbled by the blogs I read: so many bloggers are talented writers.

Blogging on SparkPeople connected me to many people and helped me make many new friends – some of whom I have had the pleasure of meeting in real life. There was always a blog to inspire you to pick yourself up, dust yourself off & try again. There were blogs that made you feel less alone. There were blogs that made running seem possible, despite the fact I’d never run a mile in my whole life.

If you want to find inspirational people, SparkPeople is a great place to do so. I’m sure I would embarrass some of my friends if I were to single them out, so I won’t. But their comments, their empathy, & their support kept me going when I wanted to give up.

The man of genius inspires us with a boundless confidence in our powers.

–Ralph Waldo Emerson

Where do you turn to find inspiration in your life?

14 thoughts on “What sparked inspiration in me

  1. It’s amazing what a difference it makes when you find something inspirational for you. You can accomplish and achieve so much more when you’ve got support and you’ve got people to look up to who have already forged the path you’re traveling down.

    Like

    1. Depends on the week . . . right now it’s about 34 lbs; which is actually a little heavier than I want. Still looking to lose those last 5 lbs (which is now more like those last 10 again). SP + WW works for me! But it’s still a constant battle.

      Like

  2. What a great testimonial to a fine support system. I don’t know very much about Spark People, but have heard nothing but good things (Weight Watchers was my method of choice when I had baby weight to part with). A 30-pound weight loss is a huge accomplishment. My hat is off to you for making such a change in your life!

    Like

Leave a Reply

