Spilling over high tea

The very first thing I’d tell you if we met for coffee is that I don’t drink coffee. Never have. I am one of those weird people that don’t even like the smell of coffee.

So I would be drinking tea, not coffee.

But I am joining up with CocoDeborah, and Lynda for their ultimate coffee date anyway.

The Ultimate Coffee Date

If we were enjoying high tea . . .
I’d tell you that I’m very happy that my husband is home after a 2 1/2 week business trip, but that I miss my quiet house.

My husband is like most men: he likes noise. He likes the tv on all the time. I only like it on if I’m watching something; otherwise, I enjoy my quiet.

When we travel for a half, his gift to me (besides driving and being my gear check) is often to leave the tv off.

If we were enjoying high tea . . .
I would tell you there are days I really want to get out  of the house and go somewhere, because it’s such a lovely day — like today — but at the same time I’m tired and I don’t want to go anywhere.

If we were enjoying high tea . . .
I would tell you that even though I have maintained my weight for over a year now and basically weigh the same as I did last summer, lately I’ve been feeling frumpy and dissatisfied with my body.

At the same time I am so proud that I’ve actually managed to maintain my weight loss this time. I have lost weight several times over the years, but I have never managed to maintain it for very long before — no doubt because I didn’t have the most healthy eating habits.

Over the last 20 years I’ve made big changes to the way I eat and I am constantly learning and trying new things.

If we were enjoying high tea . . .
I would tell you that I lead a very small life. I was never career driven. Sure, I worked from the time I was a teenager until my mid 40s. But I unexpectely stopped working in my late 40s and I don’t miss it.

I sometimes think I should have been born in the 50s, but I also know I am way too independent to have been happy living in the 50s.

I am mostly a homebody who enjoys being at home. Until I’m sick of it, of course.

If we were enjoying high tea . . .

I would you that I have to walk the dogs around 6 am in the summer because Chester simply can’t tolerate the heat later in the day.

And I am often wishing I could be running instead of walking the dogs because it’s often still overcast and pleasant. By the time I am finished with their walk, and feeding everyone, often it is sunny and warm out.

Tea? Iced Tea? Coffee? Decaf? Or something else?

What do you need to get off your chest?

17 thoughts on “Spilling over high tea

    1. It’s even worse with my Dad, who is 89 and mostly deaf. I’m actually thankful he can no longer drive up here because it used to drive me insane. Of course that does mean we have to drive down to my parents more often, but it’s worth it.

      Like

  1. I am like you Judy! I dont drink coffee and never have. I dont mind the smell but the thought of putting that tar water in mouth makes me just a bit queasy. I don’t tea either. I can say that even in my minor sips of life I have never drank what equates to entire cup of either.

    Like

  2. Like you, I don’t understand the public’s fascination with coffee! I usually only drink water or juice, and on very rare occasions I’ll drink tea. But I do love high tea!

    My husband also travels on business and I enjoy the quiet when he is out of town as well. I also enjoy being able to cook and eat whatever I want, go to bed when I want, etc.

    Congratulations on being able to maintain your weight for an extended period of time! That is a huge win and it is NOT easy to do. I’ve been on Weight Watchers for a few years and have hit my goal weight, but I do have to work pretty hard to stay here. It would be SO EASY for me to gain it all back and then some!

    Like

    1. I’ve been lifetime WW member for 20+ yrs – obviously not always at goal. At the moment I am & have been for more than a yr, but I’d like to lose about 5 more lbs so I have a bit more leeway.

      Good to know I’m not the only one that enjoys the freedom to cook as I like when my husband is out if town.

      Unfortunately I don’t get to go to bed when I like because of my dog.

      Like

  3. My husband also has to have the TV on at all times. Congratulations on maintaining your weight! You should be proud! So many people (like me) are addicted to coffee because of the way it makes you feel. Energized! I would be crawling around today without it. LOL.

    Like

    1. I’m not a caffeine person, although maybe that’s part of my love affair with dark chocolate.

      I am very proud of maintaining my weight while still dissatisfied with my body at the same time.

      Human nature, I guess.

      Like

  4. Super on your weight management! My husband and I have issues with the TV thing too! One reason we do NOT have a TV in the bedroom. It’s all I can do to have him on his phone while I’m trying to sleep. I had to put my foot down on the TV after too many times the issue coming up. He does not require as much sleep as I do. But we worked it out, for now 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Judy, I am so glad you joined us for “tea”. I love the house being quiet and when the kids are in school all day and hubby at work, I rarely have the t.v. on. I am also a homebody and love being right here, cooking, cleaning and of course running. I think I was supposed to be a modern day June Cleaver because I take care of the home and family as she did. Thanks for coffee this weekend 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

