Accountability, People Pleasers & Getting it Done

Deb Runs

Accountability breeds response-ability. — Stephen Covey

Here’s what accountability mean to me: you say you’re going to do something. You tell someone. And because you’ve told someone, you feel you must go through with it — and you get it done.

There are many reasons I love to run in groups. And one of those reasons is absolutely accountability. It’s incredibly easy to bail on a run when it’s raining, when it’s snowing, when it’s too cold, when it’s too hot, when you have a headache . . . the list goes on and on

What if you know someone else is already there, counting on you to show up? Women (and let’s face it, most, but not all, of the bloggers I’ve connected with are women) tend to be people pleasers. We don’t want to leave another runner in a lurch.

On my own I have a tendency to procrastinate about getting out the door. It’s too hot or too cold or I get involved in something else. When there’s a group run on the line, though, you don’t want to keep your buddies waiting and you actually get yourself out that door when you said you would.

The internet is a great place for accountability, too. Tell someone you’re going for a run on your blog, IG feed, FB feed, and you’ll think twice about bailing on that run. Because then you have to fess up.

Another way I like to hold myself accountable is to pretrack something, usually food or exercise. I put that exercise in my tracker and then by golly I’ll go and do that exercise. Like how I just went and did the yoga I put in my tracker before I finished up this post, because I knew if I stayed here writing I wouldn’t get the yoga done . . . but it was already in my tracker and I wanted to make sure I was accountable to my tracker, which sounds really silly but totally works.

Good men are bound by conscience and liberated by accountability — Wes Fessler

Do groups help you in your accountability?

19 thoughts on “Accountability, People Pleasers & Getting it Done

  1. That Steven Covey quote is a good one! I struggled a bit with my post, because accountability is so closely tied in with responsibility and commitment! I like to think that I’ve been running so long that I don’t need much help with accountability. In fact, I get upset when something prevents me from getting my run in!

    Like

  2. Groups help so much with accountability! You definitely don’t want to leave your friend or group waiting when you’re supposed to show up. It’s a lot easier to bag a solo run, but not so much when someone is expecting you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I tried to find, not even a group, but a runny buddy through work. We are a facult/staff of 182. Lots of runners. No takers. šŸ˜¦
    Luckily I am highly discipline and am accountable to myself šŸ™‚
    I agree totally with sharing plans for accountability. It’s exactly why I post my goals on f/b, not to brag, but once it’s out there, giving up is not an option unless something drastic happens.

    Like

  4. I agree if you say you are going to do something, you HAVE to do it — at least in my mind. For me accountability is all about self. I certainly can’t cheat myself, we know how that ends up. So I got up for my run this morning when I really wanted to sleep in.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Love it- what ever works šŸ™‚ I love my Lose it and it keeps from over doing it many days.
    I just put my exercise clothes as soon as I get up, once I have them on I won’t get distracted by all the undone chores šŸ™‚ If I didn’t run at the crack of dawn, I may not run as much lol

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I do believe groups keep you accountable! I was mostly a solo runner but I most often met up with a friend and she went her pace I went mine but we started together and waited on each other. I didn’t want to let her down, she doesn’t like going by herself so it was a good fit for that! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. My running group absolutely keeps me accountable. Your advice for putting your workouts on your tracker is great. I suggest to my clients do that if they have trouble fitting their workouts into their busy schedules.

    Thanks for linking up!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

