Running, take me away! (Carefree)

Deb Runs

I have discovered the secret formula to a carefree old age: iycri = fi (if you can’t recall it, forget it). — Goodman Ace

The quote above seriously has nothing to do with today’s post, other than the fact that it works in the Wednesday word: carefree. And it tickled my funny bone.

Carefree. Running. Running Carefree?

Yes, I’m struggling a bit with this one. Because I am not usually a carefree runner. I care too much: care about my pace, care about hitting my paces, care about completing assigned workouts, care about doing all the things that keep my body “running” smoothly.

Once a week I try to be a carefree runner, sort of, kind of. I still strap on my #Garminvivoactive. Okay, it’s pretty much always strapped on. But it’s on and I start the GPS . . . and then I don’t watch my pace. I use it to tell me when to do my run/walk intervals. I use it to keep track of my mileage. But I try to keep my easy run easy.

In fact, I did this just yesterday. I truly had no idea how slow fast I was running. In the end, it wasn’t a bad pace for me on an easy day, considering how hot and humid it was. I don’t want summer to go, but boy do I want summer to heat to go! I don’t live in TX anymore.

Not that I can complain. We really didn’t have a lot of heat this summer.

On the other hand, running also has a way of making me carefree, even if only temporarily. Those things that really aggravated me before I started running? They don’t matter so much after I run. I’m a kinder, gentler person after I run. Even if it’s only for a little while.

A lot of times when you’re young and carefree, you don’t realize, when you tip over the edge, how difficult it is to climb back in. — Joe Cocker

Are you a carefree runner?

23 thoughts on “Running, take me away! (Carefree)

  1. I have tried to be a carefree runner. Just put on the shoes and go but that hasn’t really worked out for me.

    This summer, I tried to run and only look at my pace when it went off at the mile markers-that was soooooo hard!

    A work in progress because I can see how just strapping up and running could be awesome!

    Happy Wednesday!

    Like

  2. I like that – one day a week to go without devices. I find when I get burned out on running or riding that I just like to go out with no device (or if I’m cycling, just have strava on my phone in my pocket but not watching HR or Power).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’d really like to do one more half before the end of the year (that is, after my half in Oct). I think I have it in me.But Chester makes things really iffy.

      Training for marathons is much more grueling than training for halfs, though. I do like a break even from my halfs & I do enjoy just running because I want to then!

      And a very strange idea crept into my brain the other day. I decided I would try a half for my 50th . . . somehow the thought of trying a full for my 60th crept in. I really don’t know where that came from. Especially since my actual birthday is in the dead of winter! And seriously I don’t know if I want to run that long or if my body would stand up to it.

      But somehow the thought has lodged in my brain. At least that’s almost 6 years away & who the heck knows where I’ll be then?

      Like

  3. As I said in my post, I have carefree moments. But unfortunately I worry about my running and training as I do everything else. I’m working on finding more moments though. Reading your comment above, marathon training is not as bad as I worried it would be. You just take plenty of time and increase that long run. I’m not working toward any goal, just a strong (and carefree!) finish.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You have to remember that my LSD pace is between 13-13:30 mm. No joke. So it would be a huge time commitment for me. I would be looking at at least 5 1/2 hrs of running — that’s a really long time.

      And I’ve always said I didn’t want to run that long.

      Of course for a long time I also said I would never run a half. 🙂

      If I was faster, if I knew it would take between 4-4:30, I would definitely try it. But it won’t.

      And then there’s the whole injury thing.

      And I would probably train with my group, and that means very, very early mornings. It’s early enough for the half.

      Anyway, not crossing that bridge any time soon (although I bet my husband is shocked — he reads the blog AND the comments!).

      Like

  4. The one thing that helps me feel “carefree” about running is the thought that whatever’s on my mind back in the real world can’t really get me when I’m on the road. It works even better in the pool!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yes, I am. I do always strap on a GPS device (currently the apple watch) but only use it to tell me when to turn around. I never worry about my pace. I just enjoy my run. And it does make me a much nicer person afterward.

    Like

  6. There are enough things in life to worry and stress about, and I try not to let running be one of them. I love my Garmin and wear it 99% of the time, but I don’t always pay attention to pace while running. I like to know how far I ran, though 🙂

    I love how you ended this post, though! Running itself definitely helps make me more carefree in the rest of my life – it helps me let go of things I don’t need to dwell on.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

