Spotlight on Maintaining My Base: 9/7-13 Weekly Wrap

Another week with not enough sleep. Chester continues to wake me up in the middle of the night to go out. I’m hoping with cooler evenings this week I can get him out for a second walk and maybe he’ll let me get some sleep.

This week was mostly easy runs, with one tempo run and one long run — everything went really well, despite more hot weather, except for one very slow easy run. Running on fumes by that point! But this week was all about maintaining my base.

WeeklyWrap

Today I’m linking up with Holly from HohoRuns and Tricia at MissSippiPiddlin and their weekly wrap linkup. So how was my running last week?

  • Monday: Dog walk, 4 mile tempo run, Yoga for Runners Back & Hamstrings, Core Essentials L2d
  • Tuesday: Dog walk, 3 mile easy run, Prevention Dance It Off fat burner & core
  • Wednesday: Dog walk, Iron Strength Full
  • Thursday: Dog walk, Yoga for Runners back & hamstrings 3 miles easy/not so easy in reality
  • Friday: Dogwalk, Prevention Dance it Off Cardio, Legs & Arms, Tomahawk Strength Routine, Yoga for Athletes Flexibility, Yamuna Hips
  • Saturday: 7 mile LSD — beautiful cool morning, great company, great run, pretty much a repeat of last 2 saturdays
  • Sunday: Dogwalk, errands

Mileage: 17 (-1)

Easy doesn't always feel easy!
Easy doesn’t always feel easy!

Base mileage Maintenance
This week was simply about mainlining endurance, or in other words, time on feet. Mission accomplished. No taping except for my long run, and since that was only 7 miles, I only taped the problem leg.

And there were no problems. Next week is our last long run before our taper, which just happens to be our longest run of this training cycle too. And my running buddies are abandoning me. I figure I’ll be running on my own for my half, anyway, and of course I’ve done many long runs solo, too.

Technically this week was supposed to be a cutback week (mainly because some of the marathoners are running a half marathon as a tune-up race next week), but I know that I need to maintain my mileage base, so even though most of the runs were easy, I modified the schedule a little to keep my mileage up. I’ll be tapering soon enough!

Are you afraid of solo long runs?

19 thoughts on “Spotlight on Maintaining My Base: 9/7-13 Weekly Wrap

    1. Well, no, I don’t want others to feel like zombies either. Of course you NEVER get enough sleep.

      It was cool enough to walk them after dinner; like I thought, that did the trick.

      I still had to get up to use the bathroom, but there was no snoring so I was able to get back to sleep!

      Like

      1. Yes, i guess I am a bit sleep deprived but some weeks are definitely better than others. No snoring is a plus!! The cats are quiet in bed but sometimes Greg’s snores keep me from falling back asleep.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I hate Chester is keeping you up but it does sound like he is doing better huh? You had a solid week of training despite your lack of sleep. I so need my sleep and I suffer when I don’t get what I need.Very glad to hear your 7miler went well. Thanks Judy for your continued support for our Weekly Wrap! Have a great week!

    Like

    1. I’m not terribly happy about losing sleep because of Chester, believe me, but it isn’t his fault.

      He’s doing better, but every time we adjust his medication he does better — for a while.It’s really just a matter of time.

      Enjoy getting back into that training!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m a terrible sleeper. When my hubby snores, I just sleep in the other room. I have a 12 mile run scheduled for Sat. Can’t decide where or when…or if I do the half on Sun but that would be crazy.

    Like

  3. Sounds like a challenging week with little sleep. I haven’t done a “long” run in quite some time. I did a 12 miler on my own in June as my last long run before my half ironman. It was 3 laps around a paved trail in a park nearby. It was hard to start the third lap instead of just going to my car! Good luck with the upcoming training week!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I hope Chester is doing better, even though you’re having to get up during the night. No, I’m not afraid of long solo runs. It’s what I do. I’m not sure I would be good company, actually. LOL. I’ve only got one more long run too! It sounds like your knee is so much better and I’m so happy for you about that! Thanks for linking up with us today!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s taken quite a few yrs, but at least now I have a couple of friends I run with now & again. I’ve done plenty of solo long runs, too.

      Chester is better – and walking him after dinner is helping him (and me) sleep through the night. Better for him is just a relative term, unfortunately. So far he still loved to eat & for him, that’s the most important thing!

      We’ll see how my IT stands up to 11 sat.

      Like

  5. Chester seems so sweet. It is hard when our furry babies get older.
    I have been trying to maintain my base too. I have been in survival mode…I am just starting to to feel like I need to start working a little harder.
    I did all my training in the past alone, the training team and having a run buddy are pretty new things for me. I enjoy both ways i guess.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I hope you’ve been able to get more sleep! Is the yoga for athletes an in-person class? If it’s a DVD or online thing, I’d be interested in checking it out!

    I have a friend I run with for most of my long runs (we’ve been running together for five years now!) but lately my long runs are usually solo since she just had baby #2 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s got to be tough to lose your running partner (although obviously she’ll be back at some point).

      Yoga for Runners is from Christine Felstead –she has a beginner & intermediate DVD. I tend to prefer the beginner simply because it’s broken up into shorter segments.

      The intermediate isn’t that hard, but it’s easier to do just 10 minutes with the beginner one. And sometimes that’s all the time I have!

      I tend not to sleep as well in the shorter days, which never makes sense to me, but at least Chester hasn’t been waking me up since I started giving them a second walk now that it’s cooler.

      I’ve no idea what will happen in the winter when that just won’t be possible!

      Like

Leave a Reply

