Runfessions or who resents the dog they love?

Today I’m joining up with Marcia at Marcia’s Healthy Slice to share my runfessions. I didn’t think (or remember, more likely) that I had runfessions to confess, but I did manage to come up with a few that include dogs, the green eye’d monster, and a little skipping.

Chester
Who could resent this cutie?

I runfess . . .
All summer long I’ve had to adjust my schedule because of Chester. Even though we had a cool summer with just a few stretches of heat here and there, he can’t tolerate walking when it’s warm — and by warm I mean almost anything over 60F. But he still enjoys his walks.

I had to eat breakfast earlier than I wanted to because I had to get the dogs out for their walk earlier. Then I’d often end up really, really hungry by dinnertime. Maybe that contributed to struggling with my weight more than is normal for me in the summer?

I could have eaten after I walked them, of course, and I tried that, except then I have to feed them all and by the time all was said and done and I could sit down to breakfast I was starving. Starve in the morning or starve in the evening.

That wasn’t the worst of it, though. The worst was that the weather was often really pleansant when I was walking the dogs. Good running weather. And of course I’d see people running. By the time I got to run, the clouds had cleared up and it was hot. I resented the fact that I couldn’t run before I walked the dogs.

I try really hard to be mindful to enjoy the time I have left with him. To enjoy these walks, to be grateful for the amazing views of sunrises and flowers and changing leaves.

Who resents their dog that is dying from heart failure? Me, apparently. Of course I love him to bits, but I sure resented not being able to run when I wanted to. Now that it’s cooler I can actually run before I walk them. So there’s something to enjoy about Fall.

Not enough preventative extercises
Not enough of this

I runfess . . .
The last few weeks before a half are crazy for me. Before the taper I’m running my highest mileage. Then there’s all the prep for the race, which is quite a bit since all my halfs are racecations. I have to prepare little notesheets about the animals, all of Chester’s meds (he gets meds 3 x day — how do people who work do this?), my own supplements, the house, make kongs and of course there’s still running to do as well.

And of course my IT is a lot better, so yeah, I’ve got a bit loosey goosey with my preventative exercises after my runs. Sometimes I just forget, sometimes I’m just too tired, sometimes I’m hungry, sometimes there’s just no time because it’s dinner time already or I have an appointment and have to shower (because I also practically live at the vets, not to mention there’s the chiropractor for me, and I finally did get my hair cut after months).

And this is the time I should absolutely be the most vigilant about it! On the upside, I have been getting more yoga in. Now I’m in taper town so hopefully I’ll tighten up and fly right, so to speak.

I runfess . . .
I can’t be the only one who does this. Please tell me I’m not. The only one that checks the race results to see who came in after me and what age they are — and am happy when they’re younger than me? Or to look for the people I know in the race, the people who are normally faster than me — and came in behind me?

Didn’t I just write about how comparison could be a good thing? Obviously not always.

I swear I am actually a nice person. I care about people. I will stick around and cheer you on (which I did yesterday). Maybe that doesn’t come across so well in this post! But hey, Marcia asked for it.

Wouldn’t you like to get some runfessions off your mind? Come join us

Runfessions

6 thoughts on “Runfessions or who resents the dog they love?

  1. You are a nice person. If you didn’t love Chester so much, you would have run instead of walking him. I’m sure the yoga helps….maybe not as much as the exercises….but it helps. I do like to know that it’s not just the 90-year olds who come in behind me 😉

    Like

  2. The love/hate relationship with our animals! I feel for you! I didn’t even have to walk ours, he normally just stayed in the yard, but then his hearing went and he started wandering and then our 10 minute morning went to 20 I know- 10 minutes adds up to a lot of heat here- don’t feel bad! I always compare in my age group- who doesn’t? They are not honest if they say otherwise! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I totally get the doggie resentment! One of my 15-1/2 yr old Bichons has canine alzheimers (yes, it’s a thing) and will poop all over the house for spite if he knows I left him alone to go out and run. I’ve been known to carry him down to the basement so he can watch me run on the mill. The things we do for these dogs! Thanks so much for linking up!

    Like

    1. I suppose I should be glad I don’t have that to look forward to because Chester is never getting that old. But then there’s Lola . . . and of course Gizmo (the cat) is almost that old.

      So far Chester has had only 2 accidents, but that’s because I’m vigilant!

      Mine like to be far away when I’m on the treadmill. In fact, one time I was and my husband & I were having some argument, which upsets Chester, and he tried to get up on it with me.

      It wasn’t set very fast, but he did this slow motion slide down it and couldn’t get off it and I have to admit it was hilarious.

      Hugs about your Bichon. Why can’t they just go peacefully in their sleep when they’re really, really old?

      Like

Leave a Reply

