Post Half Marathon Running (but mostly not): 10/12-10/18 Weekly Wrap

Not much running going on this week. Not a whole lot of movement in general! It’s unusual for me, but sometimes you need to rest.
WeeklyWrap

Today I’m linking up with Holly from HohoRuns and Tricia at MissSippiPiddlin and their weekly wrap linkup. You don’t have to be a runner to join in & tell us how your week went! So how was my running last week?

  • Monday: Yoga for Runner’s Foundation & Hamstrings, Dogwalk (in the dark!)
  • Tuesday: Dog walk (2); does watching DWTS count as a workout?
  • Wednesday: Dog walk (2),  Yoga for Pain Relief  Align & Alleviate & Back
  • Thursday: Dog walk (2),  Yoga for Pain Relief Align & Alleviate & Back
  • Friday: Dogwalk (2)
  • Saturday: Dogwalk, 6 mile LSD
  • Sunday: Yoga for Pain Releif Align & Alleviate & Knees & Hips, Dogwalk

Mileage: 6 (-13)

 

Took stress out on the road
Took stress out on the road
 

Slugdom & Chester
I took it way easy this week — obviously — but I think I just needed it. Compared to some I didn’t race much this year — 3 halfs: 2 in May & 1 in Ocotber & a handful of shorter races. But that doesn’t mean I didn’t work hard!

I’ve been training hard for 3/4 of the year. It’s not quite over yet, with a 15k on the horizon (hopefully they don’t sell out as I seem to have a hard time actually committing to it). So I’m back to training, but the plan is to loosely follow the Run Faster, Run Less plan which only has 3 x week running. But none of them are easy runs.

They also prescribe cross training, and obviously I totally plan to do some cross training, but at the moment I don’t really have access to swimming for the most part & I don’t bike so it will be some kickboxing and dance DVDs most likely.

 

Old photo of Chester & me – – much less gray!
 
Chester, who is 10 and in heart failure, crashed hard Saturday. We have upped his meds again, and he seems to be responding well to that, but we’ve almost maxed out what his little body can take. The cardiologist mentioned the “e” word for the first time.

I think we have some more time with him, and even as sick as he was, he still has a great appetite. I would be surprised if he sees 2016 but maybe. The good news is that by Sunday he was almost back to normal & we did our usual walk – he was too sick on Saturday to go for his walk.

 

Chester practicing yoga with me
Chester practicing yoga with me
 
The last time we changed meds he got about 6 weeks out of that, and there’s still something we can add if need be. The balance is that the heart meds (many diuretics) are hard on the kidneys. So all prayers & good vibes welcomed!

I didn’t get a whole lot of sleep Friday night because of him, and needless to say I was very stressed, so I took that all out on my return to running (post half marathon). I had a decent pace for me starting out, and aimed for negative splits. By mile 4 I was starting my inevitable slowdown, but I told myself I was better than that and had already proved I can push hard — so I did.

I continued with my miles getting faster and pushed hard that last mile to keep it below a 12 minute pace.

It helped, and it helped even more that by the time I got back Chester had more energy, too.

And my body feels fine today, thankfully. The back is finally back to normal. It was a very mild pull but it sure took a long time to heal up. I actually did feel quite a bit of DOMs from my half this week, and that might also be why I took it so easy, just dog walking and lots of yoga and some days not even yoga.

How do you recover from races?

26 thoughts on “Post Half Marathon Running (but mostly not): 10/12-10/18 Weekly Wrap

  1. That looks like a great post-race recovery week. I do hope you can keep your little yoga buddy around for a bit longer. Sending healthy Chester vibes your way.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I did some yoga last week and a bike ride. I finally got some short easy runs in at the end of the week. It’s back to the mat this morning.

    I’m so sorry about your pup. My Cleo is 12 1/2 and still pretty perky, but I do know that my time with her is limited. I dread thinking about that. She’s such a light in my life!

    Like

  3. I love the photo of Chester as your able assistant. I have one of those, too, albeit of the feline variety.

    I know how hard this is for you. I am most definitely sending good vibes your way that you can enjoy some quality days ahead with him.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. There is so need to push right now, so kudos for giving your body a break. I’m glad you are having no pain. It look like your Saturday run was beautiful with the fall leaves. I’m sorry to hear Chester was not doing well but glad to know he responded to the meds. As a fellow dog Mom, I know that has got to be very stressful and emotional. My heart goes out to you. I appreciate you linking up with us today.

    Like

  5. Awww such cute pics of you and Chester. The “twilight” years with our pets are so hard. I’ve got two Bichons that are litter mates and they’re almost 16. One is fine but the other is so up and down. I know the days are numbered.
    RLRF is my jam. The runs are hard though. I don’t recommend in a recovery phase. Right now I’m running less and slower. Haha!

    Like

    1. Remember mine was only a half & I have a 15k coming up (maybe). I’m only loosely following it.

      Chester’s unfortunately young for this. Chis can live to 20, but I feel lucky he made it to 10. Lola, my other chi, is the same age but very healthy, knock on wood.

      Like

  6. Sorry to hear about Chester- I am sure that he had a long. good life. I hate when animals are in pain. I’ve had to put 2 cats down and it wasn’t fun but I knew that they would be suffering if I didn’t,

    Unless I am injured, my recovery is the same as when I am training (except my long run isn’t as long.)

    Like

  7. Ahhh – my thoughts with Chester. So hard when our fur babies get old – way too fast too!

    Hey – quick question – what app do you use that puts your distance & time on your picture? I’m apparently out of the loop 🙂 haha

    Like

  8. Nice recovery week. Those yoga workout seemed perfect for recovery.

    I am so sorry to hear about Chester 😦 totally sending you all positive thoughts and prayers.

    I need to plan out my training for my last half in Dec. The Run faster, run less sounds interesting-i might need to look that up.

    Have a good week. Hugs to Chester.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Basically it ‘s speedwork , a tempo run & a long run – but the long run has prescribed paces based on a recent race (5k, etc). Strength training & cross training. I did loosely follow it when my IT Band was bothering me.

      I love that particular yoga series!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I’m so glad you took it easy this week Judy, but my heart goes out to you and Chester. I know first hand how attached I have become to my dog that got run over. I feel like every single day is a blessing. He has recovered fine and there is nothing he can’t do. No one will ever convince me God did not put animals on this earth to give us joy. When everyone around us has failed us our dogs are there to pick up the pieces. If only they could talk. 🙂 I pray when the time does come it will be quick and free of pain. I know you are doing everything you possibly can to make Chester comfortable now. Enjoy your time with him. I hope both of you have a great week and as always thank you for linking up with us. We’ve had a PR in the amount of linkers this week! 🙂

    Like

    1. PR in linkers. 🙂 First time I heard that expressed that way!

      At some point I’ll have to make the decision for Chester; the vet has already told me it’s extremely unlikely he will go on his own.

      Not the first time, and obviously won’t be the last, but it’s always difficult of course.

      In fact we had a trip planned next week & we’ve had to cancel it because basically we can’t find anyone to take him anymore, other than the vet, and I know he wouldn’t be happy there. Although I’ve urged my husband to go on his own, it was mostly to see his family anyway.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Sorry to hear about your dog Chester. Our pets are part of the family and it’s so hard to see them in pain. Nice job recovering and taking it easy this week! I love the fall leaves in your picture!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I usually take a break after a race, too. I usually need it, both mentally and physically. I’m sorry to hear about Chester 😦 It’s hard when a dog gets older and especially when they get sick. Good thing y’all got the meds figured out so he was feeling back to normal. Sending thoughts and prayers your way for him!

    Like

Leave a Reply

