Love is all you need — John Lennon said so!

Cynthia from You Signed Up for What?, Courtney from Eat Pray Run DC, and Mar from Mar on the Run, chose 5 things you love for this Friday’s 5 linkup. It’s really difficult to limit it to just 5 things! I could just go on and on. See, I really am a half glass full gal although it hasn’t seemed that way recently.

I’m going to share 5 things I love and none of them will have anything to do with running. I have many loves! Consider this to be another getting to know me post.

Movies
Sadly, I so rarely get out to see movies anymore. I’m hoping to go see one this weekend. I’m hoping Chester can hold it that long. Movies these days are long!

My parents have always loved movies; growing up, that was their entertainment — every Saturday they went to the movies. In fact, even though they’re in their late 80s, they still go every Saturday.

They passed that love on to all 3 of us. Movies can challenge you, make you think, make you laugh, make you cry, scare the bejeezus out of you, stun you with their beauty, take you to places you might never get a chance to see, educate you, and sometimes very simply take your cares away for a few hours.

Reading
I was that kid: always had my nose in a book. I don’t read as many books these days, but I’m still reading every day. Library books. Magazines. On my kindle. Blogs.

Everything I said about movies? They apply to books, too, only you have to use your imagination, which sometimes can be even more fun.

I read before going to sleep every night. I read while drinking my tea in the morning.

I don’t read while eating, though. Too distracting. I want to taste my food. I used to, of course, as most of us do, but it’s a bad habit that I broke.

 

Baking up a storm
Baking up a storm
 
Baking
I come from a long line of awesome bakers, but I am self taught. My mom didn’t like help in the kitchen. But I like to eat.

Now I know lots of people who love to eat but use their ovens to store their pans. I don’t get that. If I had the time and it wouldn’t cause me to weight 300 pounds, I’d bake almost every day. There’s something so soothing about it to me.

And of course then you have goodies to eat.

Massage
I know a lot of people who’ve never had a massage or don’t like it. Okay, I can understand having never taken the plunge. But not like massage? I just don’t get that. If I were rich, I’d have a masseuse on my staff.

Both my mom and my MIL do not like massage. They don’t like to be touched. Maybe it’s a generational thing?

I seriously love being massaged. I even love foam rolling my back because that feels so good!

 

Celebrating 30 yrs (with a half, if course)
Celebrating 30 yrs (with a half, if course)
 
My husband & animals
My husband will tell you that it really ought to be the animals, then him. It’s kind of a toss up. But if he hadn’t at least tolerated animals, I very much doubt I would have married him, much less stay married to him for 30 years.

My parents also helped to instill a love of animals; we always had a cat and a dog growing up.

 

Love my furkids
Love my furkids
 
I feel about my animals the same way I do about running and deprivation: yes, they are a never-ending time suck, but they give back so much more than they take. And even though there is always the heartache of losing a beloved animal, since their lives are so short, the love they give in those short lives makes up for the inevitable heartache.

 What are your loves that have nothing to do with running?

20 thoughts on “Love is all you need — John Lennon said so!

  1. Of course my cats & hubby make the list but I didn’t consider them “things.” I love movies and go quite often in the winter and love to read. Knitting is my current craft of choice but I went through a quilting period and all the others. Never had a massage and don’t plan to spend the money on one – not a necessity, there are others things that are more important to me like manicures & hair coloring. To each his own.

    Like

  2. I don’t get when people say they don’t like massages. How could you not? Hmmm…my family, my dogs, a body of water, my backyard swing, a medium-well grilled burger, Oysters Rockefeller, cake, Christmas decorations — I could go on forever.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I never met an animal I didn’t like. I’d bake myself silly if I wouldn’t gain weight. Can’t remember the last time I saw a grown-up movie in the theater but I saw Hotel Transylvania last week.

    Like

  4. I love baking so much, too, but rarely bake anymore because of the calories and my lack of self control around freshly baked almost anything!

    There’s nothing like a good book, and when I compare movies to the book I always prefer the book. This Friday will be another test when I got see Big Stone Gap. I loved the book trilogy so it will be interesting to see what I think of the movie.

    Hope you had a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

