Trotting off the Turkey: 11/23-29 Weekly Wrap

It was a grueling week getting ready for Thanksgiving; I won’t lie. Especially since Chester wasn’t doing well the beginning of the week, but oddly enough, he rallied over the weekend.

I’m joining up with Holly of Hoho Runs and Tricia of Misssippipiddlin to recap last week.

WeeklyWrap

You don’t have to be a runner to join in & tell us how your week went! So how was my running last week?

  • Monday: Yoga for Pain Relief Flexibility & Flow, Dog walk , Physique57 Back Body
  • Tuesday: 4 miles easy on the mill with 4 x 30 strides, Yoga for Runners Foundation post run, Dogwalk
  • Wednesday: Yoga for Pain Relief Align & Alleviate, Dog walk,  RFRL Strength x 2
  • Thursday: Yoga for Runners Back & Hamstrings, 3 1/2 mile Turkey Trot
  • Friday: Yogaworks AM, Dogwalk
  • Saturday: Yoga for Pain Relief Align & Alleviate, RFRL Strength x 2,  (and barely 3000 steps)
  • Sunday: 6 mile easy tempo run with Darlene, Yoga recovery routine from RW

Mileage: 13.5 (-.5)

 

1st Turkey Trot
1st Turkey Trot

 

First Turkey Trot
I got in more IT-targeted strength training this week, but less Physique57 & my month is almost over. Check them out — they’re running a month for $20 right now which is an excellent price (I am not an affiliate). Something just always has to give.

In fact, the animals ate late Wednesday night because I was just determined to get that strength training in and was doing it at 5 pm. They survived.

 

Dessert, anyone?
Dessert, anyone?

The food part of Thanksgiving went pretty well (except the turkey was too salty — I brined it and if I do Thanksgiving again next year, I’ll do that again but cut the amount of salt in half; curiously, the dark meat, which we had for dinner Saturday, wasn’t too salty).

 

Strong women
Strong women

The prep? That was brutal.

Oh, you were interested in activity? I did my first Turkey Trot. You can read more about that tomorrow.

Doing good on my #yogastreak — how about you? Planning to return to some kettlebells now while I still have a little bit of off season left.

Chester update
Chester was not doing great at the beginning of the week, and I was worried. Read 5 Ways to Know It’s Time if you don’t know Chester’s story.

He doesn’t deal well with warm weather, which we had on Thanksgiving and especially on Friday. In fact, we took them to the park Friday because it was so nice and I ended up carrying him around.

But it cooled down over the weekend and he was a lot perkier. My mom was actually surprised on Thanksgiving (it’s been about 6 weeks since she saw him) that he looks so “good” (totally depends on the day)

Recharging my batteries
Recharging my batteries

Weekend Favorites
A sunny run, finally! I get so sick of the clouds this time of year. Met up with Darlene from My 1st 5k & More — wish her luck on her half this weekend.

We rented Southpaw (great acting, ok movie, the theme has been done to death) and had some yummy buttered popcorn.

And a good sushi dinner Sunday. Sushi rocks my world, always.

Are you still working on Thanksgiving leftovers?

24 thoughts on “Trotting off the Turkey: 11/23-29 Weekly Wrap

    1. We still have a lot of turkey (which I’ll be freezing), some stuffing, and a lot of desserts (although my husband brought the cheesecake into work). I’ll probably freeze some of the desserts, too, they’re just calling to me!

      Like

  1. I am glad you got some sunshine. All rain and clouds here this week for us, I had all the sun last week.
    I am glad Chester rallied. He is so darn cute 🙂
    I ate all the Thanksgiving food lol I need to start counting may calories a little closer again lol
    Awesome job on the Turkey Trot!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad Chester rallied! We only brought home a little leftovers from Thanksgiving so we don’t have much to finish off. You did great getting in so much yoga!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That was one day after days of cloudiness, and it went right back to cloudy afterwards.

      We didn’t get your blizzard, but then again, we didn’t get those 70s you got a while back, either.

      Seriously nothing to be jealous of here!

      Like

  3. I am the only person in the family who likes the dark meat of the turkey! And my MIL only bought turkey breasts this year, so I didn’t get any. I’m glad to hear Chester is doing better. I’ve done a local turkey trot but it’s always the Saturday before Thanksgiving. I’d rather have it on the day. I’m looking forward to your recap. I love your strong women pic. Are there 3 generations? Thanks for linking with us, Judy! Have a great week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, that was my sister & me, my mom, & my niece.

      I like dark meat, although I didn’t have any on Thanksgiving to make sure the guests got theirs. I must say the breasts came out really good too!

      This may just be the first year we actually finish up Thanksgiving turkey (although we have about 3 meals in the freezer right now).

      Like

  4. I prepped all week and I’m so happy to have most of it out of my fridge. I am still working on the last of the leftovers. I’m the only one here who eats them. Yay for yoga! I need more of that in my life.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My sister took a lot of turkey, but that was it. No one took any of the desserts! That’s the only thing that gets me into trouble but I’m doing ok with it so far (and my husband took the cheesecake my mom brought into work).

      Like

  5. I have the last of the leftovers in my lunchbox today! Thank Goodness! I haven’t heard of brining a turkey first? Then I assume you bake it? We just throw ours in a deep fryer down hear 🙂 Nice to hear Chester rallied for the weekend. I have yoga tonight, I need more yoga in my life!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Judy we take our leftovers to Disney with us and there were not very many left by the end of the trip. Love the picture of you Strong Women! I didn’t get in many steps Monday traveling or Tuesday either. In fact, this morning was the first time I ran since my 18 miler on Thanksgiving. Maybe next week will be more normal.

    Like

  7. Preparation for a big event, like Thanksgiving, can be so stressful. But I think it’s always worth it in the end. I’m so glad to hear Chester improved during the week and was looking good around Thanksgiving and over the weekend. I’m sure that helped you enjoy the holiday a bit more!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

