Let there be light (or not): 11/30-12/6 Weekly Wrap

  

Happy Hannukah, y'all!
Happy Hannukah, y’all!
 The weather really sucked this week for the most part. They kept promising us sun and it poked its head out briefly here and there, but there was a lot of grayness, cloudiness, and rain.

It drove me to the treadmill one day. Then another day I ended up running into the night, as I signed up for a 5k last minute and knew I needed to get in 5 miles that day when I’d only planned to run 3. Maybe that’s why my pace was so quick.

It was either that or do another run after my race on Saturday. So glad I got those 5 miles in middweek — otherwise I wouldn’t have been able to do all those fun things on Saturday.

I’m joining up with Holly of Hoho Runs and Tricia of Misssippipiddlin to recap last week.

WeeklyWrap

You don’t have to be a runner to join in & tell us how your week went! So how was my running last week?

  • Monday: 10 minute Yoga flexibility & relaxation, Lean & Lovely, Dogwalk
  • Tuesday: 5 miles on the treadmill (threat of freezing rain), YFR Foundation postrun
  • Wednesday: Solibeat WU, Lean & Lovely, Dance Yourself Thin WU, RFRL strength
  • Thursday: Dog walk, 5 speedy miles, YFR Foundation postrun
  • Friday: YFR Back & Hamstrings, Dogwalk
  • Saturday: YFPR Alleviate & Align, Jingle Bell 5k, Yoga for Runners Foundation postrun
  • Sunday: Dance warmup, Lean & Lovely & some RFRL strength, dogwalk

Mileage: 13.1

 

Still Streaking
#yogastreak, that is.

 

Working on a daily yoga practice. Some days it’s 5-10 minutes; rarely is it more than 30.

Running update
I’ve been getting in more strength training the last couple of weeks. It isn’t easy, but my IT has not been bothering me. Coincidence? I think not!

 

Unplanned xmas light run
Unplanned xmas light run
 
I’ve been playing around with shortening my running intervals: I did 2 minutes run, 30 seconds walk on all my runs this week. My midweek run was particularly speedy (for me), without trying, and I had high hopes for the weekend’s 5k. You’ll have to come back tomorrow to see how I did. 🙂

Chester update
Chester still seems the same, holding on, but I’ve noticed he seems to breathe heavier in the mornings. He always breaths heavy, but it just seems heavier in the morning. He seems perkier by the afternoon most days.

Read 5 Ways to Know It’s Time if you don’t know Chester’s story.

 

Yummy high tea!
Yummy high tea!
 
Weekend Favorites
I had a great day on Saturday; it’s really been a long time since I had a fun day with friends.

First the Jingle Bell 5k. Then a great high tea — you could choose tea sandwiches, but I went with a turkey avocado sandwich and it was yummy.

 

“Antique” chair made in Taiwan
 
Then my friend & I browsed the store next door; and I bought 2 of these chairs (not antiques, not even close — made in Tawain!; but they make me smile). We needed to borrow some chairs for Thanksgiving (yeah, we don’t entertain much), and now we have a couple more.

Do you sign up for races early or are you more spontaneous?

20 thoughts on “Let there be light (or not): 11/30-12/6 Weekly Wrap

  1. I do sign up for races early, but then I’m spontaneous in that I occasionally bail on one I planned to do or sign up at the last minute for one I wasn’t planning to do. I guess that’s my inner personalities colliding with each other! Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like a good week to me. I always sing up in advance for a race…..when I decide I actually feel like doing one. I used the same color candles last night. I love the mug!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The mug made me laugh. Although he hasn’t brought it into work yet.The candles are leftover from last year! Somehow I had some, didn’t realize it, and bought more.

      I do like to sign up early, but this year things have really been too iffy.

      Like

      1. I always forget to check for candles and just buy them when I see them. They’re actually pretty hard to find around here.

        Like

  3. I’ve always been a little superstitious about signing up super early for races. And…look what happened this year when I did. Failure. I’m more wait until a few weeks away kind of gal. Or, wake up and decide you want to race a 5k. I’ve done that plenty. I’m glad Chester had a good week. I’m looking forward to your Jingle Bell recap. Thanks for linking with us as always, Judy!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yay on your Yoga streak! I think the strength training is helping my IT, that an foam rolling it may all be in my head but still. I (knock on wood) haven’t had any issues the last few long runs and races so we’ll see. Glad Chester is a little better, but not worse. If I don’t sign up early I might not do the race. So I do try too. I’m glad to be back to regular programming this week. Vacation is great but it’s also great to get back in a routine! Hope you have a great week Judy !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Really glad your IT isn’t bothering you. You’re in the homestretch now, aren’t you?

      I understand about the needing a vacation from vacation. But I’d surely like one. If only I’d known, we would have stayed a few extra days in VT.

      Like

  5. good job on the yoga! And Happy Festival of Lights 😉 I have done a few spontaneous races (currently scoping out some possibilities in So Cal), and I have DNS’d a couple…one due to nasty weather (on prom morning, and I had a daughter with a day full of primping) and the other was back in June when I had already done two 10K’s (Fri nite & Sat morn) and passed on a 13.1 that Sunday because my body was feeling a little worn out and I had a 26.2 happening a week later. So, yeah. No guilt for either of those LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Your week turned out really well! I am glad the strength training is helping 😉
    I may play around with my interval ratio. I used 4 x 1 in the summer because i needed it, but not that is it cool I should play around. I want to use to intervals when I attempt some longer runs and see how my leg feels. i am hoping i can handle more distance with a short break…we’ll see. I had not really though about 30 sec. but I need to try 🙂
    I bet all that yoga is really helping too! Great work,

    Like

Leave a Reply

