Random Christmas Acts of Kindness: 12/7-13 Weekly Wrap

Running was good this week and that was about all that was good this week. No, that’s not really true, as I wrote Wednesday, there are always things to celebrate, but as the week went on, things went south.

I’m joining up with Holly of Hoho Runs and Tricia of Misssippipiddlin to recap last week.

WeeklyWrap

You don’t have to be a runner to join in & tell us how your week went! So how was my running last week?

  • Monday: Dog walk , 4 miles easy, YFR Foundation postrun
  • Tuesday: Dogwalk, 10 min Kickbox WU, Lean & Lovely
  • Wednesday: YFPR Restore & Rebuild, Dog walk,  4 mile easy run, YFR Hips
  • Thursday: Dogwalk, Dance it off WU, Lean & Lovely
  • Friday: Dogwalk (2), Yogaworks PM, YFPR Emotional Pain
  • Saturday: YFPR Align & Alleviate, 5 miles easy, YFR postrun
  • Sunday: Dogwalk, Lean & Lovely, Perfect in 10 Yoga Relaxation

Mileage: 13 (-.8)

Some new running clothes
Some new running clothes

Running Update
Running went well this week. I was stressed out for a lot of the week and the running really helps me with that.

I also realized that my disappointing time in the Jingle Bell 5k may have been due to the shorter 2:30 intervals. I had read that the longer you run, the shorter your intervals should be.

But I had such success with those intervals middweek I decided to try them in the 5k.

I don’t have enough data yet, but I reverted to them again midweek this week, and again, I was able to run 5 miles at a 12:30 mm pace without ever checking my pace (until the run ended, obviously).

I have one last 5k for the year this Saturday, but it’s a fun run, and I am not expecting to set any records. But I will revert back to 4:30 for it.

 

Too tired to walk

Chester update
Chester took a sudden turn for the worse on Thursday. I left for my weight watchers meeting, and when I came back 2 hours later he was really struggling to breath and his respiratory rate had shot way up. Despite a visit to the holistic vet that day, he had a bad night. Read 5 Ways to Know It’s Time if you don’t know Chester’s story.

I knew the holistic vet doesn’t do appointments on Friday (he’s already maxed out on western heart meds & there is really nothing more western medicine can do for him), but I called and left a message.

The vet returned my call that afternoon and that’s how I was headed up in the dark in the early evening. Of course he was doing better before we left, but as is the case in heart patients, he still struggled more with breathing that evening — still, we had a much better night and he seemed much perkier Saturday (which included a visit to BurgerFi for dinner & bites of my husband’s cheeseburger for the dogs).

The holistic vet told me she has some new settings to try after consulting with another vet; if he doesn’t respond to those, then we’re at the end of what holistic medicine can do for him, too.

Either way I don’t think he has much time left. Still eating like a champ, though.

On top of that, on Wednesday, Lola & Gizmo (but ironically not Chester) decided to throw up everywhere. Gizmo ate grass (and is fine). Lola ate some rabbit poop & who knows maybe something else — she eats rabbit poop all the time without that kind of reaction. Actually, last time she did something like this she had worms; we checked for that with both dogs recently because she’s getting skinny. But she tends towards skinny and at the time it was negative.

Well, so far it was an isolated incident for her, too. Nothing like thinking you’re going to finally relax a bit and then have to clean up everywhere and wash dog beds. That was the same day I spent hours updating the OS on my iPod touch, too.

 

Smiley pawprint
Smiley pawprint

Weekend Favorites
A beautiful run on Saturday by myself. I really enjoy running with other people, but it was just what I needed that day. I was able to run off some of the stress of the week, I thought about what was going on and what we ought to do, and I prayed a lot, too.

 

Seen on my run!
Seen on my run!

And then I ran into a random tree on the trail hung with ornaments (including the one above). I may be Jewish, but that sure made me smile! What a kind thing for someone to do.

Run into any random acts of kindness lately?

17 thoughts on “Random Christmas Acts of Kindness: 12/7-13 Weekly Wrap

  1. I’m sorry you had a stressful week! I hope Chester responds well to the new settings. Your weekend run sounds like the perfect stress reliever. What a surprise to find that note out on your trail. I love the pants in your pic! What brand are they? I hope you have a better week. Thanks for linking with us Judy!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Holly. He does seem to be responding; most likely it will be a short time, but I’ll take it.

      That photo of Chester was from our walk yesterday morning, which obviously turned into a carry for him. My husband & I traded on & off carrying him. We put him down a few times to pee — sometimes we put him down as Lola was peeing, because he loves to mark over her; he wasn’t even interested in doing that but around midday (once the meds kick in), he’s usually perkier.

      The tights are from Athleta. They’re awesome! Super pricey, but since I wasn’t able to go on 3 getaways we had planned this year, I decided to treat myself. And am considering a second pair (they have large pockets on the sides, too, which is why I look like a snowman in the photos on IG!

      Like

  2. I know how hard this is for you, dealing with end-of-life issues with your precious Chester. My heart goes out to you. You can take comfort in the fact that you are treasuring every precious moment with him.

    I note that the ornament you saw in the woods reads “holiday cheer,” not “Christmas cheer.” It was meant especially for you. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. LOL, Connie, I actually didn’t even notice that. I did notice this morning that it’s actually a salt shaker!

      There were other ornaments on the tree, too, and they definitely were Christmas ornaments.

      I do think Chester will be around a little longer, I’ve just no idea how long that might be. Not long, I suspect.

      Thank you for your kind words.

      Like

  3. Aww Chester. That is so hard 😦 he has been given so much love by you and I know he is grateful for you, as much as you are for him.
    That is funny you saw the random message in the tree, sometimes little signs do come when needed.
    Your new run clothes are great!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I was going to contact you to run with me after my race o Sat. Glad I didn’t. You had a nice solo run. My cats puke ALL THE TIME. I don’t worry. I just hate the clean up. I’m replacing the rugs when we don’t have cats anymore. Sorry about Chester. He is lucky to have such a caring owner. See you on Sat. Supposed to rain/snow & be cold. Hope they’re wrong.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Right now there’s just a small chance of some form of precipitation. If not doesn’t throw up a lot but for some reason this day was special for both of them. I was probably better off on my own last weekend.

      Like

  5. Look at that precious face! Hope the new settings have Chester feeling better. Love that you found that bit of cheer on your run. Kindness and gifts are everywhere. We just have to look for them. We were at Ikea and I was waiting for the Caveman to bring the car to the loading area when I noticed a young lady standing there with lots of long heavy boxes she couldn’t lift into her car. You know I helped her and I made the Caveman help too. Do unto others, right?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. So sorry to hear about your dog. 😦
    How wonderful that someone would put that on a tree. Positive energy is so much healthier than negative energy. I saw someone wearing a big, football player like jacket today with the words SICK AND TIRED on the back. Who would want to walk around boasting negative energy ? Definitely prefer your sprinkles.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I too think that random act of kindness was meant just for you sweet lady and all you are dealing with. Yes we do know Chesters time is near but you can take comfort in knowing you are doing all you can to help this little guy. Me being much of an animal person as anyone I believe they are here to help us and love us. It doesn’t matter what goes on they still love us unconditionally every day!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

