A white Christmas walks barefoot into a backpack: TOLT

That subject will make sense to you if you just bear with me and my  Thinking Out Loud — I promise.

Why should Christmas be white?
Explain to me why you so want Christmas to be white. I’ve lived in the northeast for the majority of my life and as far as I’m concerned, if it never snowed again I’d be happy as a clam.

Granted, I’m Jewish. But so was Christ. And he wasn’t born anywhere near snow, either.

Is walking barefoot in winter a thing?
Inside, of course, but still. 3 of my nieces/nephews grew up in SoCal. Two of them decided to go to almost the snowiest places they could find for college. And they still walk around barefoot inside.

Are you just naturally more warm blooded if you’re raised in a warm environment?

I’ll have what they’re having.

 

This made me giggle

 

Putting Chester to work
Seriously, the fact that the mini backpack/first aid kit I got at Last Run fit the dogs just made me way too happy.

Now what could I put it in? I could put in treats, of course, but they’d probably dislocate a hip trying to get at them.

Seriously, I have no plans to make them wear it, but ya just need a giggle now and again, ya know?

I have a stye
Yes, I have a pimple on the inside of my eyelid, essentially. I do think I’ve had one before, but not while married, so it’s been at least 3 decades.

It’s annoying. It caused me to spend hours I didn’t really have yesterday at the eye doctor, then at the pharmacy. And let me tell you, even the drugstore can be a dangerous place for a shopaholic like me!

In the end I escaped with just stuff I needed for my eyes, but makeup! Protein powder! Gummy vitamins! So many temptations and we won’t even go into the seasonal candy.

The most annoying thing, other than looking pretty bad, is that I can’t wear my contacts for a week (because I have to put drops in my eyes 4 x day).

But deb’s wednesday word, which just happened to be joy, reminded me of all the ways I am so lucky (not the least of which is that I can afford to go to the eye doctor).

And, as always, this too shall pass.

Did you get the recaptcha with the gift boxes?
That was actually kind of cool. Clever. Damn, I should have taken a screen capture. 

Bad blogger.

 

Anything make you giggle this week?

I’m linking up with Amanda at Running with Spoons for her:

Thursdays are for thinking out loud

13 thoughts on “A white Christmas walks barefoot into a backpack: TOLT

  1. I was born and raised in Arizona, and when you’re raised in a warm climate, you never get used to wearing shoes. The feet could be freezing cold, but bare feet is the norm and comfy. Sweats and bare feet… so stylish. I’m getting used to wearing slippers now… still hate shoes, but slippers are the next best thing to bare feet (other than flip flops, lol). Funny blog post Judy! Thanks for the smile!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Must be a generation thing. I’ve never walked the house barefoot.

    Even now, I either wear shoes or slippers.

    Hope your eye heals quickly. I’ve never had a stye. I’ve had infections but not in many years.

    I’ve been wearing dailies and love them. In fact, I don’t even ever wear my glasses. They are so comfortable that I can sleep in them.

    Like

    1. I actually do really like walking around barefoot, just not in winter and last weekend was cold!

      When it comes to eyes, you name it, I’ve pretty much had it (except the scratched cornea).

      Most of what I read said they usually just heal on their own, and I really detest unnecessary medicine, but I had some questions and that’s basically why I went to the eye dr.

      I’m going to test wearing a contact in my good eye tonight . . .

      Like

  3. I don’t get the white Christmas thing, either….maybe that’s a Jewish thing. I grew up in So Cal and I never walk around barefoot unless I’m doing yoga or at the pool/beach. Chester looks very cute in the backpack. Boo for stye! Yay for drugstore shopping!! My mom loved to shop in the drugstore and I guess I picked that up from her….it’s better than any mall in my opinion.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’d definitely rather the mall, and frankly wasn’t real thrilled about having to hang out at the drugstore either, but I suppose it’s certainly not the worst thing that can happen to you.

      I like being barefoot — if it’s warm!

      Like

  4. Born and bred New Englander, still here, still despise the white stuff.
    I like bare feet. Or socks. I do not like to wear shoes and stockings.

    I hope the sty heals quickly. Annoying, indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I am a Jewish girl too, though I did marry an alter boy, and I agree what is all this hype over a white Christmas. I mean it screws up all your traveling plans.

    As for walking barefoot, as a podiatrist, I am all for it. It helps to strengthen the muscles of your foot. I agree it is a generational thing. My patients in their 70s and 80s never go barefoot.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

