Listening to your body does a body good: 2/1-7 Weekly Wrap

This past week did not start off well. Slight temp, muscle aches, I wanted to keep running according to my schedule but I knew rest was better for me so I took a couple of extra days off of running and exercise in general, other than yoga and walking.

I was rewarded for listening to my body!

Don’t forget to let us know how your week went at the Weekly Wrap from Holly @ Hohoruns and Tricia @ Misssipppiddlin.

 

WeeklyWrap

Workouts update

  • Monday: YFPR Rebuild & Restore, Dogwalk
  • Tuesday: Dogwalk
  • Wednesday: 4 Treadmill miles with IT exercises each half mile, dogwalk (rained all day!)
  • Thursday: Dogwalk
  • Friday: 1 mile WU & CD, 2 miles @ tempo, Tomahawk routine postrun, dogwalk
  • Saturday: YFPR Flexibility & Flow, Dogwalk
  • Sunday: YFR Hamstrings, 7 mile LSD

Mileage: 15 (+.25)

TIU = Tone it Up
TM = Treadmill
YFR = Yoga for Runners
WU = warmup
YFPR = Yoga for Pain Relief

Running update
I was feeling meh at the beginning of the week: very slight temperature, muscle aches, scratchy throat. I told my husband that I was either getting a cold or a period.

Did you know that you can actually get flu like symptoms before a period? I used to think I was nuts, because I often felt literally sick before a period, and as far as I could tell, I was the only one. But no, it’s really a thing. Lucky me.

It kind of killed me to take an extra rest day; it totally screwed up my plans for running for the week. And the kicker was I knew that if I ran, I’d feel better.

Still, I also know sometimes when I feel that way all I really need is rest. I can’t say I got as much rest as I’d like to — any woman knows there are things that simply have to get done. But I did it. By Wednesday, though, it became apparent I wasn’t coming down with anything serious, and while I still felt meh, I got back to it.

By Thursday I felt better! And I have absolutely no excuses for doing nothing other than walking Lola Thursday. I really meant to do yoga, but then my husband got home earlier than expected from his business trip.

A little waterfall


Sunday I explored another new-to-me area, on the recommendation of my husband, part of the Zim Smith Trail. It wasn’t really exciting, but it was almost pancake flat and it was a pretty day.

I was pleasantly surprised to have a run that felt mostly easy, was negative splits, and nothing physically bothered me. It’s the longest I’ve run in a couple of months — off season is over and spring half training is on!

Weekend Favorites
I did get Mr. Judy to video both Gizmo & Lola going through their paces on my impromptu indoor agility arena. You can see how Lola spins when she’s excited — and runs right into a corner at one point!

But she loves it.

My husband trained them again while I was out running, and said Gizmo didn’t want to stop. I put a video of Gizmo training on my personal facebook page, by the way.

Nope, couldn’t finish all the carb-y goodness


Maybe my run Sunday went so well due to all the carbs I consumed at dinner Saturday? My husband wanted to try a new BBQ restaurant near us, as he sorely misses BBQ, and since BBQ isn’t my thing, I had a turkey sandwich — with cheese, bacon, and guac. And waffle fries. I didn’t even come close to finishing all that!

Pretzels. Almond Butter. Dark Chocolate. Nuff said!


And then there was this little treat I made for myself for postrun — man, that was awesome (and simple). I took a package of Weight Watchers pretzels (you can obviously use whatever pretzels you want, but portion control works for me on things like that). Sandwiched them with 1 tbsp almond butter (total for the entire package, not 1 tbsp almond butter per pretzel sandwich, although that does sound pretty awesome). Then drizzled them with about 2 tbsp of melted dark chocolate chips and put a little smoked sea salt on top.

And that’s a wrap!

Had any great long runs recently? Made any great snacks?

26 thoughts on “Listening to your body does a body good: 2/1-7 Weekly Wrap

    1. So far, so good. Except now I have to do the chores again. 😦

      The pretzels were great. And very simple to make (which is why portion control was so important).

      Lola can actually jump much higher than that, but she has a bad back so we try to keep it low for her.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh wow… those pretzels look so good! Great job on your workouts! It’s always nice to have a run feel mostly easy. I hope this week goes well too!

    I went on a long run yesterday that I think would have been nice, except I was fighting 40 mph winds, which made it pretty brutal.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was lucky; it was breezy but not truly windy — we’ve had a lot of windy days, and usually when it’s that bad, I’ll stick to the treadmill.

      In fact, I’m still debating about how to arrange my runs this week because this weekend is supposed to be frigid. 😦

      Like

  2. I love BBQ but I don’t eat it that often. It’s not conducive for a good run so I’ll have it really only when people visit. It’s a treat for them, and me, but I know I wouldn’t have a good workout the day after.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m really not a BBQ fan & up here, there isn’t much.

      We got a friend to send us brisket from one of his favorite places for husband’s birthday last sept — I tried a little, and I have to say that was really tasty!

      Like

    1. Oh, I used to get that as well. So imagine that with mild flu like symptoms on top of it every single month!

      Except now I’m at the end of perimenopause so I don’t think I’m actually going to get a period — although it’s still possible! — but you still get the symptoms. Sometimes for weeks at a time!

      Like

  3. I love the video! Lola is so cute 🙂
    The best thing I’ve had is my walk this weekend lol but it is better than nothing.
    That snack is right up my alley.. yummm
    Glad you are feeling better, I am trying to fight something off now.

    Like

  4. Awww look how sweet that video is! I’m trying to teach our dog to roll over. One will do it the other thinks just twisting his neck is good enough. We’re still working on it! I’m glad you are feeling better and we do need to take time when feeling blah. That treat looks good and I love all three ingredients. Are the pretzels soft or are they the hard ones underneath?

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You know, Chester was very smart & picked up things quickly.

        Lola is also smart, but she doesn’t pick up some things as quickly. Sit up, for instance, took quite some time for her to learn.

        But once she did, hers was much better than Chester’s.

        Just keep at it!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow, that lunch looks yummy. No great long runs for me as I still am saddled with a sore hamstring/gluteus medius problem. But the positive thing is that it is not Bursitis so there is that! Your dogs are adorable!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. When I used to get my period (I had a partial hysterectomy 7 years ago), I felt like crap for the days leading up and a few days into it. I just ran through it because what else could I do. I have to say that I don’t miss that at all. Now I’m getting hot flashes and I’m not happy about this. I get them even in the middle of a run. I can’t win.

    Like

    1. Oh wow – a hot flash in a run? That sucks. Like I said, I do get them, but it’s very sporadic & mild so far, knock on wood.

      I haven’t had a real period since last July, but sometimes it feels like I will & then that feeling can literally go on for months.

      Resting last week translated into good runs, it just screwed up my schedule (the return of snow ain’t helping either).

      Like

  7. Oh…those pretzels…..#heavenly 😉 What a cute video! Our Max has learned several tricks (shake, roll-over, spin-around, lay down, pray, etc.). And you should see him dance when he thinks we have a treat hidden our hands 😉 I’d love to have a little peek into his little brain 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I swear I thought your food pic was chocolate eclairs! (Oh, no! Judy’s gone off the rails! LOL) Anyway, a very yummy recipe for sure! My Mini spins when she is excited. When we sit down to go through all of her tricks, she does them all in succession and gets them over with. I’m trying to make her do only the one I want. One at the time. I am glad you are feeling better! Thanks for linking with us.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yes, both them used to try and just go through all their tricks one after another. The “trick” is to only reward them when they give you the one you wanted (but Lola will still try out lots of different tricks, I was trying to get her to jump through a hoop for one video and she just kept running around it and over the jumps).

      Nothing wrong with a chocolate eclair once in a while! Not really my thing, though. Not rich enough, not sweet enough, no nut butter . . .

      Like

Leave a Reply

