My triumphant return to running

triumphant

When I saw the Wednesday Word for this week, triumphant, I knew exactly what I wanted to write about.

The year was 2013. My training for my spring half was going great.

Right up until the taper. It’s always the taper with me!

Then the knee pain started out of the blue. No really, it often does start out of the blue (although since then, I have learned some of my triggers).

Blackstone Valley
Blackstone Valley – well, the start was good

I skipped runs. I rested. Race day dawned with glorious weather. Probably the most perfect weather I’ve ever had for a half. My husband and the dogs saw me off.

The first 6 miles were fine. And then the pain set in. Let’s just say it’s the only half I’ve ever called my husband during and had to walk the last 3 miles. Yes, it was a disaster and my very worst half memory.

What’s worse is that knee pain continued to plague me for months afterwards. The first few weeks I couldn’t walk the dogs without pain.

I was already signed up for my second year with USAFit Albany, though. What I wasn’t signed up for was a fall half.

I started doing the training though. I began to wear a knee brace. And yet that pain would continue to creep in in the last mile of every long run. I seriously considered not running a fall half at all.

And then it happened: I ran 7 miles pain free and I knew I could do a half. I signed up for Smuttynose Rockfest.

Smuttynose Rockfest lobster roll
Smuttynose Rockfest lobster roll: best postrace food ever!

It was my triumphant return to running a half, a PR at the time, and I had a marvelous time.

Nelson Mandela was not only wise, he was eloquent. Yes, I am still afraid of injuring myself. But I continue to run halfs and conquer that fear. I hope you can be triumphant over your fears, too.

Deb Runs

Have you had a triumphant return to something in your life?

33 thoughts on “My triumphant return to running

    1. They’re nail stickers. You can buy them at Sephora, at most drugstores, at Target … I’m always so surprised more people don’t know about them. You just stick then on, but they’re actually real nail polish & you remove them with nail polish remover.

      I don’t do my nails too often, as they just come undone quickly with housework. But those are really fun and when I’m traveling I’m not doing housework!

      Like

  1. Great post! I love the quote from Mandela.
    Did you know I live minutes from Blackstone Valley? (I assume that is Rhode Island). I was raised in Blackstone Valley, specifically, Central Falls.

    As you know, I am experiencing knee problems right now. Hopefully, the visit to the orthopedic physician on Friday will get me on track to triumph. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love reading about awesome comebacks! I have always been scared of injury. It took me most of my adult life to figure out that I could run. I don’t want to overdo it and have my running taken away. I have taken on bigger challenges than 13.1’s, but I have always done them with conservative mileage in my training.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey, I was almost 50 before I started to run!

      I wasn’t really scared of injury until I was injured.

      My mom, OTOH, was constantly reminding me running is bad for your knees. Except now she’s decided running is pretty good for me.

      Like

  3. I am glad things worked out well for you πŸ™‚
    I hope I can make a triumphant return soon!
    I am the same way, after my stress fracture, I worried all the time about injury, and still got hurt again…I am sure I may be a little crazy when I start running again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

