Dog videos & paintings & food, oh my!: TOLT

This  Thinking Out Loud is going to get a little active. I’m sharing a couple of videos.

Resting is great, until . . .
. . . you start doing your laundry again.

It’s not that I didn’t do any laundry last week, but that was one of the ways I rested — just doing the bare minimum.

So the upside of having lots of clothes is you can get away with that.

The downside is now I have a ton of laundry to do!


Lola will do this just for fun!
Because everyone loves animal videos, here’s the one where she almost ran into the wall in her excitement (the other video I shared is on my Weekly Wrap).

Sometimes I do this with her without giving her treats at all! And she still loves it. I do it on rainy/cold/snowy days when we don’t get out for our walk so she can get a little exercise.

Yeah, she wasn’t listening too well on that one and she almost took my fingers instead of the treat. She’s a high energy girl!

Prepare to be wowed
I just love this video and the message.

 

Contacts and onions
Chopping onions and then putting in your contacts? No bueno.

No matter how many times you wash your hands!

Dogs on the run
So I’m running on the treadmill Tuesday and I see a man in a fur hat and bathrobe running past the window. I’m pretty sure it’s our neighbor, but not 100% sure.

Turns out it was, and it reminded me of a story my husband loves to tell about Chester (I’m going to try to get that one up this weekend; he already wrote it up).

Our neighbor is a state trooper. His dog is his partner — a German Shepard. I’m always kind of amused how much he doesn’t listen when he’s at home and off duty (the dog, that is).

Only this was a little disturbing . . . because when I went out to finish up the shoveling later in the day, I could see that they’d been in our back yard, too. I’m a bit worried that George may have jumped our fence. Lola wasn’t out, thankfully, but I must say I’m a bit worried about what would happen if she had been.

Lola’s no, I’m comfy where I am, thank you, look

Do you want to go out, Lola?
So I snapped this photo Tuesday when I asked her that question and she flopped over and flaunted her belly (although the minute I got the ipod, she’s up and trying to pose, of course, because my furkids are the biggest hams for a camera).

We get this a lot when we ask her if she wants to go out. Either that or she streeeetches out and then flops over.

Enjoying a long walk before the snow flies

But get her ready to go somewhere in the car and she’s spinning around. This was the park on Monday; we went for a long walk (for a little dog). The next day it would have been snow covered.

Which is why we went for a long walk Monday.

chester_heart
Angel Chester (notice the heart?)

Our Chester Painting
I mentioned a while back that my husband had us on a list for a woman who paints animals who’ve passed for free. I know too many of my friends have suffered a similar loss lately, and maybe you’re interested too.

My husband sent her a montage of Chester photos, but she chose the one we both like so much to paint. We don’t yet have the actual painting, but above is a photo of it she shared to my hsuband’s facebook page.

Here’s the link to put your name on her list.

Remember you will most likely have to wait a very long time. Our name had been on the list for 1 1/2 – 2 years, with the intention of doing it for a cat of ours who’d passed, and our name came up right after Chester passed.

There’s always some synchronicity out there in the world if you open yourself up to it.

Meyer Lemons
First thing I do in the mornings, after visiting the bathroom, is squirt a little fresh lemon juice in some water and sip while I’m on the ipad.

My lemon of choice is the Meyer lemon. A checkout guy once asked me the difference between Meyer and regular lemons, and I said it was kind of like the difference between red cherries and rainier cherries — a different taste.

Turns out Meyer lemons are a cross between oranges and lemons, and therefore sweeter tasting. Who knew?

No wonder I prefer Meyers with my sweet tooth!

Can’t get enough almond butter & dark chocolate

Peanut Butter Hearts
Yes, after sharing these I just had to make them. No, I haven’t made the fudge bars I shared on my facebook page afterward (yet). No, I don’t plan to eat them on Valentine’s Day (we each had one yesterday). Yes, I modified the recipe just a smidge.

And they were yummy.

Do yo have a favorite furkid photo or video you’d like to share?

I’m linking up with Amanda at Running with Spoons for her:

Thursdays are for thinking out loud

19 thoughts on “Dog videos & paintings & food, oh my!: TOLT

  1. Lola is such a cutie! And also very stylish in her adorable jacket 😀 And one thing I noticed about contacts and onions is that cutting onions is so much less painful when you have contacts in. I noticed a little while ago that I can cut onions without crying when I have my contacts in. But I defiantly believe you about touching your eyes with onion juice remnants on your finger. I did that after cutting hot peppers once and I think I cried for about an hour.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh wow, I can’t imagine how painful it would’ve been with hot peppers. I almost never use them, thank God, but I do use a lot of onions!

      Interesting, I’ll have to try to remember next time I’m cutting them up with my contacts in.

      Like

  2. Lola’s funny! She does love her treats, doesn’t she! The painting of Chester is fabulous! I think she captured the love in his eyes perfectly!! Love the look of those chocolate peanut butter hearts and that which was on your FB page! I think I’m going to gain 5 pounds this weekend just by looking at all the yummy treats! Fun post Judy! Really enjoyed it!!

    Like

    1. Well, Lola spends a lot of time sleeping too. I’ll bet she wouldn’t sleep as much if she had another dog to play with or I had more time to pay her attention.

      Even sleeping, though, they’re so cute. Especially when they sleep! They look like little angels when they’re asleep.

      My first blog was actually about my cat . . .

      Like

  3. I feel you on the onions and contacts. I actually did something similar but with orange citrus acid and my contacts and holy pain train. That was seriously one of the most unpleasant experiences I’ve had in a while.

    Like

    1. These posts were really hard for me at first! It took me a while to get into the groove of writing stuff down during the week and find my voice for them.

      Some of my best posts are off the top of my head, but I find it hard to be random off the top of my head!

      Like

Leave a Reply

