Runners need pampering, too: 2/8-14 Weekly Wrap

It was a week of good running, lots of yoga, lots of good eats, and not enough strength training. And some much needed pampering. And lots of peanut butter (well, almond butter, really) and chocolate.

Don’t forget to let us know how your week went at the Weekly Wrap from Holly @ Hohoruns and Tricia @ Misssipppiddlin.

 

WeeklyWrap

Workouts update

  • Monday: YFR Hips, Dogwalk
  • Tuesday: Speedwork on the Treadmill 4.5 miles combined with Tomahawk routine, YFR Foundation postrun, dogwalk (cold & snowy)
  • Wednesday: Yogaworks AM, Dogwalk, 10 Min Yoga Flexibility & Relaxation
  • Thursday: Perfect in 10 Awaken & Energize, Physique57 Arms & Abs
  • Friday: Very cold 7 1/2 mile LSD
  • Saturday: YFR Hamstrings & Foundation
  • Sunday: YFPR Align & Alleviate, 3 miles on TM + ITB Rehab Routine Circuit

Mileage: 15 (NC)

TIU = Tone it Up
TM = Treadmill
YFR = Yoga for Runners
WU = warmup
YFPR = Yoga for Pain Relief

Running update
I don’t know what the heck happened this week — somehow I extended last week’s break into this week for no good reason. I just couldn’t muster up the motivation to get in that strength training the first few days of the week.

Then I didn’t get to walk Lola much, either. First there was snow and our princess doesn’t like walking in snow. Then Thursday I thought I’d be able to get her out for an afternoon walk, only it was cold and then turned insanely windy (we’re talking wind gusts 20-40 mph making the feels like temp about 0).

And from Friday on we had another polar vortex visit.

Post polar vortex long run runfie


So I got out Friday for my long run, because even though it was cold, it was tolerable, thanks to Wendy @ takingthelongwayhome and my thermoball. In fact, I set out to do 7 miles and by mile 6 I figured since I’d done 7 miles last week, I’d just add on another half mile. Plus I’d done a 4 1/2 mile run earlier in the week so things were just even then.

This run was totally mind over matter: I started to slow down in the middle miles, and I told myself I could keep under a 13 mm. And without checking my watch, except at the mile markers, I did just that. Even the last mile, when I had to walk around ice again.

At least I got in lots of yoga.

Weekend Favorites
It was a good weekend. Saturday was seriously too cold to do anything (feels like -35 with the windchill, anyone?), so we hunkered down inside and rented Spectre. Much as I love Bond, this one was mostly a yawn, sad to say. But it wasn’t so bad with some nice buttered popcorn.

My hair salon was running some Valentine’s Day specials so I had already booked a half hour massage, mini facial, and manicure for Sunday morning. When I left the temperatures were still negative, but the sun was shining brightly and I didn’t have to be out long — it wasn’t so bad; and the pampering was fantastic.

 

Yummy roasted veggies, goat cheese, & farro

 Then it was back to the salon that evening for dinner. It was basically roasted veggies with farro (my first time trying that — is it supposed to be crunchy?) and goat cheese. Which may sound like a yawn to you, but it was really, really good. And I was sort of saving myself for dessert.

Dessert Pizza


Which was this Reeses “Peeza” — not quite what I expected. The ganache was more like chocolate syrup; I didn’t expect the crust to be like a cracker; but the peanut butter ice cream was really, really good.

Dark chocolate almond butter hearts


I’d been wanting to try this dessert forever, but I was a little disappointed. I wavered between that and the brownie a la mode, and I chose poorly. Don’t get me wrong, it was good, but not as good as the chocolate peanut butter hearts and fudge oatmeal bars I’d made earlier in the week.

White pizza baked oatmeal — maybe my favorite mug cake ever!


And speaking of food, I also tried a couple of new mug cake recipes that knocked it out of the park: white pizza baked oatmeal and peanut butter. These definitely go on my list of favorite mug cakes. Definitely!

A mountain of almond/peanut butter goodness for breakfast


Probably the best present of Valentine’s Day was Mr. Judy cleaning up the kitchen after he made himself breakfast for lunch. And yes, he got me a turtle necklace, too, because I like to say that the turtle is my spirit animal.

Pampered fingernails & a turtle necklace


Oh, and in case you missed it, Mr. Judy contributed to Chewing with Chester.

And that’s a wrap!

Any great Valentine’s Day activities/gifts?

31 thoughts on “Runners need pampering, too: 2/8-14 Weekly Wrap

  1. Yes, you do need pampering. Sounds like you had a nice Valentine’s Day! We went out to eat but instead of a movie (there wasn’t anything I really wanted to see) , we went home and watched the original Sabrina (with Humphrey Bogart & Audrey Hepburn) on TV.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have really warm running clothes! It wasn’t that bad, but I was lucky I could do it Friday, before the really nasty weather set in.

      I figured if it were too bad, I could just come home and finish up on the treadmill, but thankfully I didn’t have to.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my word Judy, that Almond Peanut Butter mug cake looks divine and I just had lunch! I looked at the recipe and I’d surely have to pick up some of these things from the store. I was hoping I’d have them at home! Yes I’d also say I’m with you on the hubs cleaning up vs a gift but that necklace is very pretty! Thanks Judy I hope it warms up for yall a bit!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Tricia, it is supposed to warm up. And today is warmer (although not so warm, considering it’s snowing — tomorrow it’s supposed to rain — poor Lola may never walk again so we run her around inside as much as possible).

      That almond butter mug cake WAS very good and very filling. My guess is you don’t have the PB2? Can’t really help you there, I don’t think there’s a substitute for it.

      As to the Truvia, I left it out completely.

      And I think any type of flour would work. I used Teff flour this morning. Oh, and if you do try it, don’t microwave it 6 minutes, either. I did about 3, which might have been a tad undercooked but not much. 6 minutes would have been far too long. Microwaves, vary, but I’m pretty sure 6 minutes would be too long for any microwave!

      It’s veeeeery filling. And I’m sure would be great with some chocolate chips in it, too.I have it for breakfast!

      Like

      1. I suspect any flour would do.

        I get my PB2 via Amazon; there are some other brands of peanut flour too. I can’t really think of a substitute for that, but it’s handy.

        This is definitely a healthier cake, but I still really liked it!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. OMG it is so cold where you are at the moment. Crazy. I can understand why motivation would be wavering. A little pampering for Valentine’s Day ? Sounds good for me. I love semi permanent nail polish and am waiting to get it done right before I travel…. early March !
    Have a good week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Today isn’t too bad, and it’s supposed to get up to 50 and rain all day tomorrow. Crazy weather!

      I almost never have my nails done because it just wears off with housework, but it was a good deal and we were going out so I figured what the heck!

      Like

  4. You and Wendy are going to make me try running in my Thermoball. When it’s that cold I’ve been opting for the mill lately, which I haven’t minded at all. Go figure. Glad you had some nice spa treatments for VDay as well as good eats. Very cute necklace!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It kind of depends on the day, but those thermoballs are seriously warm! I only wear a long sleeve tech tee under it.

      There are definitely cold days I stay on the mill — obviously — but I really prefer doing long runs outside!

      Like

  5. I had a pretty lackluster week as well when it comes to workouts. Between some major schedule changes (thank you jury duty!) and not feeling great, I took it easy. I know sometimes your body just needs that but I felt a little lazy at times. I’m going to get back to it this week! 🙂 Have a good week, Judy!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The pampering sounds heavenly. However, we would never have salons open on Sunday around here. The turtle necklace is such a thoughtful gesture. Mr. Judy did good. Congrats for getting out there in the cold for your long run. You sound like me not wanting your weekly mileage to end with .5! I just popped over to your Friday Five and I am going to try one of your mug cakes. I like the portion control factor. Thanks for linking with us Judy!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, really, nothing open on Sunday? I can remember way back when, as a teenager working at a department store, what a BIG DEAL it was to be open on Sundays. In fact, when I started, I only worked Sundays!

      Well, they’re not “my” mug cakes. But I do recommend them.

      Remember, YTMV (your tastes may vary).

      Like

    1. As you can see from my new profile photo, I also have a very long down coat. (No, I didn’t run it in, but I get sweaty so as soon as I’m done, it goes on over the thermoball so I don’t get too chilled).

      It’s really ugly, but very warm.

      I didn’t end up buying another Thermoball because damn it I haven’t found one in a medium, on sale, in a color I like. And the small really is just a wee bit tight around the hips!

      Maybe next year. I didn’t have to wear it this year much at all, but Friday was quite brisk.

      Like

  7. Love the nail color 🙂 A massage feels so good. I have been working on my feet, but it feels better to have someone else do it!
    All the food looks so yummy. Why am I always hungry when I read your blog ?LOL
    Good for you for bundling up and giving it a go out doors 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re not the first person to say my blog makes them hungry. 🙂

      I do a lot of self massage, too, but it’s definitely better to have someone else do it! I actually do aim for a monthly massage but it had been a while.

      Like

Leave a Reply

