5 Meals/Recipes I Loved Recently

meals

I have been busy in the kitchen lately and I’ve even come up with a few simple recipes that I’ve been enjoying again . . . and again . . . and again . . .

It’s Friday Five  with a food theme from Cynthia from You Signed Up for What?, Courtney from Eat Pray Run DC, and Mar from Mar on the Run, which as you know is my favorite subject.

Let’s get right down to the yumminess!

Hummus + cheese = a marriage made in heaven

Hummus Grilled Cheese
Officially obsessed and I dreamed it up all on my own.

It’s great pre or postrun. It’s got that great protein, carbs, and fat combination to keep you full and satisfy your tastebuds.

It’s easy! Grab 2 slices of bread. Slather with hummus. Top with cheese. Add in any veggies you want (I put on some spinach). Grill.

Prepare to be wowed by the simple, awesome goodness. I think I’ve eaten it like five times since I first dreamt it up and I don’t usually do sandwiches!

Now I’m sure I’ll find this all over Pinterest, but hey, you read it here first! It’s my creation!

 

I know it doesn’t look like much, but trust me, it’s good & filling!

Scrambled Eggs with Spinach and Plaintains
This was inspired by a post or pin by Paleo Running Momma that I cannot locate. Sorry Michele! That recipe was for a plaintain hash, but I was even lazier so I turned it into this. Soooooo good.

Slice a ripe plaintain into relatively thin pieces. Fry up a couple of pieces of bacon and once they start releasing their fat, put in the plaintain slices to caramelize (turning once so both sides get brown).

Remove bacon once done and keep warm.

Throw in some spinach and let it wilt.

I put in 4 eggs and scrambled them up with everything, for 2 servings. Delish!

 

Real veggie pizza!

Yet Another Cauliflower Pizza Crust
Many have been tried. Few were tried again. Although I suspect I will make this one again because:

  1. It’s easy
  2. It’s not overloaded with cheese

I had an oops! moment and defrosted a bag of grilled cauliflower rather than riced cauliflower. Still worked (but was probably more work than the riced cauliflower, which our TJs can’t seem to keep in stock).

The first time I just slapped on some cheese. I like white pizza, and I figure I’m eating like half a head of cauliflower after all.

The next time I caramelized some onions — even better, even if they got a bit overdone.

I’m thinking some mushrooms with the onions (and maybe some bell peppers) would be lovely, too.

 

Yes, there’s spinach in that waffle!

Spinach Protein Waffle
Yes, you read that right.

I figured you can’t taste the zucchini in zucchini brownies or the spinach in green smoothies (if done right). And I’m trying to wean myself off my beloved sweet breakfasts. I still eat them, I’m just trying not to eat them every day. Which I totally could. Heck, I could that for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

I know it sounds yucky, but you might be pleasantly surprised. I blended everything together — except I left out the stevia — in my magic bullet the night before (which thickens up the batter) and then just made the waffle the next morning.

Another recipe I will definitely be making again. I love getting a serving of veggies in with breakfast!

 

3 ingredients. Fudgy goodness.

3 Ingredient Detox Cookies
These have no added sugar at all.

They’d be awesome with chocolate chips, I’m sure, but I’m doing well taking the chocolate out of Chocolaterunsjudy (well, some of it), so I refrained myself. I still really enjoyed them, and the healthy fats from the almond butter I used kept me full a long time.

One of my friends made them and enjoyed them too.

Sometimes simple is better.

 What meals/foods/recipes are you loving lately?

32 thoughts on “5 Meals/Recipes I Loved Recently

  1. Okay, everything just looks too yummy. Hummus grilled cheese! Brilliant! I just made a chicken pizza for dinner tonight, flat bread, hummus, grilled onions and garlic, wilted spinach, chicken and cheese… so that sandwich is right up my ally!! With gruyrer cheese. And pickles. Oh yum! (Sorry, drooling here, lol)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If you do it yourself, you have control of the sweetness of the plaintains & it’s really filling! Although I find plaintains to be much less sweet than bananas, in general, for instance (and more filling).

      Like

    1. I will try anything once.

      Except I already made another batch & double the recipe so I could have leftovers. I really liked it!

      I’ve done a similar thing with pancakes, minus the spinach, plus a banana. And I’m guessing this would be awesome with a ripe banana thrown in there too — I’ll have to try it!

      Like

    1. Pesto grilled cheese sounds pretty yummy. I like the hummus grilled cheese because it’s filling, and I gotta admit plain grilled cheese really isn’t.

      Now I’m wondering about pesto hummus grilled cheese . . .

      Like

    1. I just bought more I didn’t even look at the price. Of course it’s always cheaper to make your own, and I have, but it’s kind of a pain.

      Basically you just blend or food process it until it looks like rice.

      Like

  2. That grilled cheese looks really good. I’m going to have to give those detox cookies a try too. I’m still making protein balls like crazy. I’ve been roasting cauliflower in garlic-infused coconut oil lately. So tasty.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Protein balls can be really, really dangerous for me. So of course I plan to make some today.

      As long as I stay away from the chocolate ones (or ones with chocolate in them) I seem to have some self control.

      Garlic infused coconut oil? Oh my, that sounds yummy! Do you buy it or make it yourself?

      Like

Leave a Reply

