If you could turn back time . . .: TOLT

. . . .would you?

I’m Thinking Out Loud about going back in time, although there’s always a tradeoff, isn’t there? So many things in my life I love right now would not have been in my life back then. I’ve always been fascinated by time travel: I love the tv show “Quantum Leap” and “The Time Traveler’s Wife” is one of my favorite books (too bad the movie was rather disappointing).

27,000+
That is how many emails it takes to put me over my mailbox limit. At one time I think I had it cleaned out to maybe 100. Sigh.

Apparently cleaning my home isn’t the only thing I don’t like to do.

Careful what you say
Just last week my husband asked me if I was still happy with my 16 yr old car. It has less than 60,000 miles on it and it runs great, so the answer was yes.

In fact, I bragged about it at my Weight Watchers meeting the next day.

The check engine light came on as I headed home that day.

Thankfully not something serious and my husband was able to reset it (did you know there are readers for those warning lights that give you the ability to reset them?).

 

The real deals


And Speaking of Clothes . . .
Yup, after sharing my one sale purchase from The Gap last week, I went in search of that dress at the other Gap. I didn’t find it.

But I didn’t walk away empty handed.

In fact, the sweater on the right cost me $2.50 and the coat on the left cost me $15. Every Mr. Judy was impressed.

Of course he said a real deal would have been if they paid me to take the clothes off their hands.

My big boy, Simba (also known as PITA)


If I could turn back time
I really am a big fan of trying to live in the moment.

Yet I found myself wishing Monday that I could go back in time 9 years — to a time when all four of our animals were still with us and still healthy. I just miss them.

image
You made me laugh, Buddy (Chester)

But if I went back in time, I wouldn’t be a runner, I wouldn’t have run halfs in 9 states (and one other country), I wouldn’t have made some of the awesome friends I’ve made since I started running and blogging.

Best running blogs
Seriously, I have no earthly clue how I made the list of 100 Best Running Blogs, which includes some blogs I’ve been following for years, long before I ever started to blog. But thank you!

There are many great running blogs on this list, and I’m not just saying that because I made the list — as I said, some I have been reading for years. So if you’re looking for some new blogs to read, you might check some of these out.

 

An odd find

Getting lucky?
I never find money on the run. Never. I think I’m just too unobservant.

Darlene and Barbara spotted at nickel on the ground at the Celebrate Life Half. Yet I was the one who picked it up.

Then just a few days later I found this quarter in this box of Brooks (which I did not buy, by the way).

You know, they say things run in threes . . . maybe I ought to buy a lotto ticket?

Hiding away from the world

Gizmo is a very determined cat
He’s really a sweetheart, but when he wants something, he goes after it. He has to climb over the mountain of old running shoes, the couple of boxes of out of season clothes, and the in-rotation running shoes to get at his crate we keep in the bedroom.

Now if only he would cooperate like that when it’s time to go to the vet.

Going through her paces
Whenever I take Lola to the vet, we go through some training. She gets treats, so she has a somewhat good association with the vet. The little video above was taken from our last vet visit.

Chester always knew training was coming when we got into the room, so he’d just start offering tricks. Lola is usually too busy sniffing around for errant treats. But she’s happy to perform for treats.

How much money have you found on the run?

I’m linking up with Amanda at Running with Spoons for her:

Thursdays are for thinking out loud

31 thoughts on “If you could turn back time . . .: TOLT

  1. At first I thought we had the same shoes, until I read further, lol! Lola is adorable with her tricks! I know what you mean about going back because you miss the animals… I used to have a cat who laid on my feet and would give them a “bath,” or the one who would totally hog my pillow at night and take up half the bed… sigh… I get it.
    Congrats on the top 100!! That’s fabulous!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Simba, as a kitten, would curl himself around my head at night. I found it very soothing, but eventually he stopped doing it, although he would still occasionally curl up next to me on my pillow.

      I love going to sleep to the sound of purring, but Gizmo doesn’t sleep with us so it’s been a loooooong time.

      Simba did it again, the very last night of his life, and it was so comforting; it’s a memory I’ll always cherish.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha! I am. Waiting to see what my mailbox limit is. Since switching phones, I have still have the BlackBerry connected to WiFi so I still get emails to it. We will see how many I can get. Lol….the excitement.

    Top 100….totally awesome!!

    Aww…your pets are precious!

    Great sale buys…I need to go shopping with you!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Eek I’m the complete opposite when it comes to emails. I hate it when they are sitting in my inbox – it’s like a long to do list! Even though I’m good at cleaning out my inbox, I’m not very good at cleaning around the house unfortunately! I’ll put that off for as long as possible!

    You’re pets are too cute. Did you have dogs or cats first? We have one cat but would like to get a dog in the future. I’m just nervous that Arthur (our cat) would not be happy about it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The vast majority of the emails are from different sites I subscribe to, or newsletter, or sale alerts — so not terribly important!

      We had cats first. I already had the cats when we got married.

      With the right dog, you can definitely make it work. Gizmo is not fond of the dog/s, although he tolerates them and has been known to walk all over Lola so he can lay on me (which is totally him channeling his brother Simba). But he stopped sleeping with us when we got Chester. 😦

      I think Simba kind of liked the dogs; he would try to groom them! But they were scared of him (the cat/s are/were larger than the dogs).

      Get a dog; you won’t regret it. It just takes some time.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Congrats on making the top 100 list!! That’s so awesome and well-deserved 😀 And I’m a little OCD with my inbox, so I’m constantly going through and deleting emails to keep them from piling up because it stresses me out 😆 I’m the same way with stuff at home – clutter really gets to me, so I feel like I’m always going through my things and seeing which I can give away or toss.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh…I am terrible about my inbox (and my house). Im just not a very organized person. I’ve never found any money on the run… I think I might not be that observant either. Oh well.

    Congrats on making the top 100!! That is super awesome! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. And now I have the Cher song going through my head..hmmm.. Yay for making the top 100!! Congratulations!! I have found exactly no money while out running.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I am obsessive about emails. I read them and then I delete. I only keep what I need at the moment which is about 10.

    I love to get bargains. I saw that coat but I cannot fit another coat in my coat closet!!! I didn’t buy anything there.

    And I went to Sephora for the first time. I had a christmas to return. I did buy a few things with the refund money.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The coat wasn’t perfect, but it’s a good color for me & I could use a coat like that. Which doesn’t mean I have room for it (and hopefully I won’t be able to wear it until next year

      Today was a great day to run v

      Like

  8. I haven’t found any money running, I guess I’m not very observant either. I did find a pretty expensive multi-tool/pocket knife once that I carried home with me the remaining 4 miles of my run (with the blade closed, of course!)

    PS: I am heading to the Gap website NOW — love that coat!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

