I Watch Sunrises the Way God Intended

From Inside My Home!: March 2016 (runfessions)

I was so proud of myself for keeping my running journal up for more than just a few months, and it has come in really handy too: how many miles did I run? What exercises did I do after the last run? When was the last time I ran on the treadmill?

Today I’m joining up with Marcia at Marcia’s Healthy Slice to share my runfessions.

IMG_4886
Seriously, how cute is that Skirtsports top & bottom? And comfotable!

I runfess . . .
I am addicted to fitness/athlesuire/activewear. Maybe my post yesterday (and all those other fashion posts) are a slight clue? Although granted I didn’t buy any of the clothes I tried on yesterday!

Pretty sure I’ve mentioned that here before.

Too bad Mr. Judy reads the blog; then again, I’m pretty sure he already knows this. He’s got his own addiction with movie DVDs going on right now.
I runfess . . .
After one long run with Darlene last month, other than the stretches I did immediately after the run, I did nothing. Nada. Zip.

I did ice my ankle, later, and I did foam roll before bed.

My only defense is we walked Lola when I got home and by the time we were done, it was time for a shower, and then it was time for dinner, only they screwed up my order (we got delivery) and I could’ve done something while I was waiting for them to redeliver the correct order, but nope.

And after that half relay? Again, not a bit of stretching or icing. I did foam roll before bed again. I was busy waiting at the finish line for Darlene and Barbara and trying to take their photos!

And then there were the 3 times I ran to the grocery store to do my shopping this month — this time my excuse was that by the time I got home it was time for lunch and I was rungry.

I runfess . . .
That I was doing several errands one Sunday this month and all the crazies were out, which is why I enjoy not working — I can do errands when only a few of the crazies are out normally.

I may or may not have dropped the f-bomb when a woman not only did not stop, she never even slowed down, as I was crossing in the crosswalk at the mall. She stared straight ahead the entire time, but I know she saw me. She just pretended she didn’t.

Because she was so clearly important.

I only felt guilty when I saw the mother and her young son not too far from me. Not that it’s anything he hasn’t heard before, I’m sure.

I runfess . . .
I am actually a much nicer person now that Chester is gone.

And that is because I am now getting normal amounts of sleep and under much less emotional stress.

I really didn’t realize just how irritable I had become until he was gone. The house is cleaner, too (not that it’s ever super clean, but it’s definitely cleaner).

 

Sunrise from my window

I runfess . . .
I am envious of all those sunrise shots.

Except I am warm and cozy in my house at that hour, eating breakfast, watching the sunrise out of our bay window. Above is the closest I get to watching the sunrise during winter.

I runfess . . .
I can get lost on a circle that I have run on dozens of times (at least).

It’s happened more than once, too!

In my defense, there are like 6 different roads that connect to this circle. I apparently go like 3/4 of the way around and then take the wrong road.

I went back this month and ran around it without zoning out just to prove to myself I could do it!

I runfess . . .
That after resisting Twitter mightily, I find that I kind of like it.

I had to load it for a Skirtsports chat. And then there was a giveawy I wanted to enter. And then of course more giveaways (someday I’ll win something). And now I find myself tweeting most days, not that anyone really notices (I’m still @chocolaterunsj on Twitter, btw).

I don’t spend a whole lot of time on it, but I like how easy it is to tweet something.

 

Wouldn’t you like to get some runfessions off your mind? Come join us

Runfessions

13 thoughts on “I Watch Sunrises the Way God Intended

  1. There is run chat every Sunday night on twitter with give aways. They’re quite fun! You should play! I’m enjoying the running community on twitter as well, everyone is so supportive and encouraging! Took me 6 months to warm up to it, but I think I’ve finally got it! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad you are liking Twitter more than you thought you would. It took me a while to realize the benefits/how interactive it can be. Unfortunately I am not on Twitter as much as I use to – I loved to look at it when I was bus commuting.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hah! I see a sunrise from my window and wish I were outside to enjoy it more fully. 😦 I go for days without checking into Twitter – maybe if I winnowed my follows it would be more meaningful like it used to be. #Runchat alternates between 8 pm and 10 pm eastern and also is used to tag running related tweets/IGs during the week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If it were warm maybe I’d want to be outside, but we’re still getting morning temps in the 20s & 30s some days! Usually I’m in bed reading by 8:30 . . . someday I’ll check out #runchat – it completely baffled me as to what that was at first!

      Like

  4. I am so bad at stretching and foam rolling after my runs. I need to start or I know it’ll catch up to me. I agree with the sunrise. My bed is more cozy than seeing that during my run. I couldn’t tell you the last time I actually saw the sun rise, maybe at a race.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I do see the sunrise all the time, I’m a very early riser. I just don’t want to go out — it’s still cold out there!

      I’m good with the stretching & the foam rolling, but sometimes I skip those prehab exercises and it’s really not a good idea for me!

      Like

Leave a Reply

