We were trumped: 4/11-17 Weekly Wrap

Culinary Institute of America (Hyde Park)


We celebrated my Dad’s birthday again last weekend with a lunch at the Culinary Institute of America for all the grandkids, siblings, my cousin and her husband who live not too far away, and of course, my parents last weekend.

So I was on a bit of social media diet this past weekend. Did ya miss me?

This one is going to be a bit longer than usual, and a bit heavier on the photos; you’ve been warned. The title refers to the fact that Trump was in town when we were leaving yesterday, so we went home a different route than usual to avoid any traffic snarls. We also went down a different route saturday, because Clinton was in town up here! Bernie was here recently, Hilary was here . . . we can’t escape the politics!

I am way behind on reading, commenting, and replying to comments. I thought maybe I’d get this post up yesterday, but I was very tired when we got home — not happening! I’m at the peak of my training, and my brother was coughing all over me all weekend long, so I need all the rest I can get.

Join us at the Weekly Wrap from Holly @ Hohoruns and Tricia @ Misssipppiddlin. You don’t have to be a runner — just healthy minded people supporting other health minded people.

 

WeeklyWrap

Workouts update

  • Monday: Dogwalk, Tempo to Hill Repeats (6 x 40), PT Exercises x 3
  • Tuesday: YFR Hamstrings, Final Fat Meltdown, Dogwalk @ the park, PT Stretches x 2
  • Wednesday: Dogwalk, Speedwork (1 mile warmup, 800, 1600, 800 @ goal pace with 400 recovery, 800 cooldown, PT Stretches x 2
  • Thursday: YFR Hamstrings, Dogwalk, Final Fat Meltdown, PT Stretches x 2
  • Friday: Yoga Tuneup Shoulders, Wrists & Elbows, Dogwalk x 2, 8 mile solo LSD,  PT Stretches x 2
  • Saturday: Yoga Tuneup Shoulders, Feet & Ankles, PT Stretches x 3ish
  • Sunday: 3 miles easy, PT Stretches x 2ish

Mileage: 20 (-2)

TIU = Tone it Up
TM = Treadmill
YFR = Yoga for Runners
WU = warmup
YFPR = Yoga for Pain Relief

Running update
After my sports massage last week, everything felt great. I was pretty sure it wasn’t going to last too long, but I felt kind of bummed Tuesday when it was aching again, on and off. Then, for some reason unknown to me, I decided to wear compression socks.

Mind you, when my ankle first started to bother me I was practically living in the darn things. But it gets old struggling in and out of them multiple times a day. So somewhere along the way I stopped. I wore compression sleeves during and after my runs.

The joke was on me because in just a few hours my ankle felt fine! So I am back to living in compression socks a lot again.

On Wednesday I was doing speedwork. One of the things I don’t like about the run/walk method is that it’s hard to figure out what your pace should be during your run sections. At least for me. I was aiming for race pace, which I hope will be a 12 mm.

None of my speed intervals were a 12 mm  — they were all under that! Some by more than half a minute. This may sound like a good thing, but it really isn’t. It’s not good to lay it all out in practice and then get to your race burnt out. What it did was help me begin to figure out is what pace I’m looking for during my run portions that will translate into the correct average pace.

I had planned to meet up with my friend Jan for part of my 8 mile run Friday — I had to switch it to Friday due to family obligations for the weekend — but unfortunately she was just getting over the flu, so I was solo. And I was a little jealous when my friend Denise ran with Darlene this weekend and they ran into Jan.

It was a gorgeous day to run and it went very well. I purposely tackled Blatnick Hill again; my ankle was a bit irritated afterwards, but I was also testing out the Brooks Pure Connect on a longer run. A solo long run is a good thing, though; I’ll be racing by myself in my half, after all!

I’ve no idea if it was the shoes that caused the irritation, or simply the hilly run, but since my toes were also sore afterwards I think I have to relegate them to shorter runs and I think the Brooks Ghost 8 will get me through my next half. Which is a shame, because I love the Pureconnects!


I was going to go out for ice cream after my run, but my husband said let’s do it when we drop off Lola. Only then he didn’t want any, but I still did. And because I always choose chocolate, poor Lola didn’t get any.

My ankle was definitely sore after Friday’s run, but I wore compression socks and they really did their job — it felt fine the next day, fine during an easyish hilly 3 miles Sunday, and fine today — despite not getting in much exercise or PT other than that run for the entire weekend!

dad90
Mom & Dad left, Dad blowing out candle top right, Mom & Dad with all the grandkids bottom right

Favorites of the Week
Mr. Judy had a farewell dinner for one of his coworkers on Thursday night. That meant I didn’t need to cook for him and could eat all the sushi. Never a bad thing, even if it was a cutback week and I was only running 8 miles the next day.

 

That is Blatnick hill behind me

Beautiful weather all weekend long! Although Saturday, the day of my Dad’s party, we wasn’t super warm, since there was a breeze (and we were near the Hudson, which is always breezier, and they took photos in the shade — I was cold!). But I had great weather for my 8 mile run Friday, as you can see above.

My sister got my Dad a card that was glasses and had a row of candles on the top that light up when you pressed a button. It was a big hit — my Dad is such a ham! And my brother and SIL brought a candle in the shape of a flower; when you light it, it opens up, spins and plays happy birthday. I took a little video of it — it was also a big hit.

 

I have a shoe problem

I shared this photo on IG trying to decide which shoes to wear with my dress. And then went with the lace up flats I shared Friday after all!

Yes, I’m 7 years younger than my sister . . . 

  A good time was had by all.

dade
You can see how breezy it was!

And that’s a wrap!

Do you do have a shoe problem?

Celebrated any big events recently?

What’s your favorite treat after a long run?

33 thoughts on “We were trumped: 4/11-17 Weekly Wrap

  1. Great weather weekend. You lucked out. I have a shoe problem but not as bad as it used to be cuz since I started running, I am more concerned about support for my old feet and gave away all of my nice (but pointed, high heeled shoes).

    Ice cream is y fave and pasties a close second.

    Hope you ankle pain clears up soon!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. All in all it sounds like a nice weekend. My knee is doing the same thing as your ankle….on and off…often when I’m not even doing anything. Shoe problem….me???? Never…. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yes, I do find problem areas can ache when I’ve been sitting too long (like this morning, although knock on wood it’s perfectly fine today).

      It was a nice weekend, just tiring. So glad the weather cooperated!

      Like

    1. We were discussing that. I’d say I’d like to go there, just for the knowledge, not because I want to be a chef (I do not). But there are lots of things I’m interested in!

      I have been there before, but this was the first time I’d actually eaten there. It was so-so (because they’re students, you never quite know how it will be). Basically good, not great, but we all had a good time).

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m glad you had a great weekend and were able to avoid the traffic on the way home. I hope you don’t come down with anything after being around your coughing brother all weekend! It sounds like compression socks are the way to go for that ankle – at least something is working, right!?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m really not worried about my ankle. It’s just a nuisance. And yes, I’d like to to be perfectly normal again, but in the scheme of things, it’s really no big deal & I’m very lucky that I can run on it.

      I definitely don’t want to come down with anything so I took it real easy today & mostly relaxed. Besides the usual chores, strength training, and taking Lola for a long walk at the park because it was a super nice day, LOL! The weekend was very tiring, no doubt in part to having to do my long run before all the festivities started.

      Like

  4. We all need a social media break every now and again 🙂 I take them often! balance 🙂
    You had a great week! I would keep wearing the compression for the ankle. I used to live in mine, but since my toes are so damaged they tend to hurt after a few hours on my feet now. The sleeves just don’t give me the same support though.
    The drop in the Connects are very different from Ghost, the first few times I wore mine, my big toe was sore, just because you use it differently, after that they felt great.
    Cute shoes! I can’t wear anything I own right now lol
    That is a cute pic of your mom and dad 🙂
    During my intervals I just run and adjust by my breathing 🙂 I never look at my watch. During my race, I ran some of the run intervals really fast and would slow up on the next one. I am all by feel!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve done minimalist shoes for many years, but I find I can have problems with my toes mainly because I’m between sizes. I need a 9 1/4. I wore some 9 1/2s last year, actually did one of my halfs in them, and it was fine, but they’re really too big so I went back to 9s. Yes, I have big foot for a short person.

      I find compression socks actually bother my toes while running — to much squeezing in! — so I like to run in the calf sleeves, and wore compression socks after running.

      If I’m doing speedowrk or anything where I’m aiming to hit a pace, then I do watch my watch. I’m not glued to it, but I glance at it a lot. If it’s a long run or an easy run, I have it going, and I may/may not look at the pace each mile but then I run by feel.

      I can’t always run by feel, because my body usually feels like running very slowly, and I have goals!

      Like

    1. Thankfully my ankle problem is not PF. At first I thought it could be a really mild case since I’d been running in old shoes and one of the aches is actually in my heel, but the symptoms didn’t really match up with that at all.

      And no, those flats didn’t bother me at all either. Normally I’d probably want to wear a heel, but that probably would bother my ankle!

      At least nowadays there are more & more comfy shoes that aren’t ugly.

      Like

  5. I just got a pair of Brooks Pure Flow 4, and they are fine for 3 miles, but after that they start to bother my toes too! That really bothers me… because I spend good money on those shoes!

    Happy Birthday to your Dad!! Beautiful family pictures!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great family photos !
    Glad to hear that the compression socks work… I love them. I find I recover so much faster if I wear them afterwards. I have bought some to wear while running, but haven’t tried them yet.

    I fully understand what you mean about judging running pace with the run/walk method. One of the hardest things, but with practice I eventually got the hang of it. But not the easiest thing !

    Have a great week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m heading out for another goal pace run today, so I’ll get another data point judging speed. Hopefully I’ll do it better this time!

      I don’t like the compression socks for during a run — not usually, anyway — they don’t allow my toes to spread out. But everyone is different.

      Like

  7. Sounds like such a great weekend! I’m super glad that your ankle recovered. I think compression sleeves/hose/socks are magical! Love your blue and white dress! After the longish winter, it’s so nice to see happy and bright colors again! (and I used to have a shoe problem, but I don’t so much anymore… unless you count the running shoes that are now stacking up, lol)

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Trump was also here on the same day as Chelsea Clinton, and there was also a hockey game and baseball game. People were so afraid of traffic that everyone must have made other plans because traffic was lighter than usual. Ha!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I’m catching up, too!
    I’ve had my legs stripped twice (varicose veins) and should wear compression stockings all the time. I did for twenty years, but, like you, got tire of the on/off struggling—they ain’t easy to put on or take off, especially in hot weather. Maybe I’ll get back to them. The newest pair I have are thigh highs and they slide down, another irritation. But I can’t get around the fact that my legs feel better when I wear them.

    I love your colorful shoes, and all flats, like I wear. Not a problem, I say. 😉

    I love your celebration outfit, too. Blue suits you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Connie.

      I’m lucky that I really only need to wear compression socks for a few hours (like right now, after my run).

      I do love a heel, especially since I’m so short, but I just find I wear them less and less these days.

      Like

  10. Those flats are all so cute! How do you even choose?!

    Being a swing state, Florida gets a lot of politicians during the general. I’m not looking forward to it. It makes me feel sleazy. On 9/11, the elementary school Bush was at was in my hometown; trump has already had multiple rallies there too. The republicans really love the rich retirees!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I love compression socks, I get away from wearing them when It’s hot but in my mind I do think they help.
    The Connects are a neutral shoe right? Yup, I do love to run with friends but all in all come race day I usually am alone part of the time. It’s good to not be dependent on someone all the time.
    That hill is something but what a pretty place to run!
    I am guilty of having a shoe problem, not matter if it’s running shoes, flip flops or boots! I want them ALL!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There is no absolutely no doubt that the compression socks help! I don’t like to wear them when it’s hot, either, although I’ve been known to wear them with shorts for recovery. It’s a look. 🙂

      Unfortunately I’ll be running mostly by myself again this weekend. And I always race alone!

      That hill is well known locally. 🙂

      Like

  12. Your story reminds me I missed my grandson’s birthday party one year. I was coming back from a half marathon and I was re-routed because Obama was flying into the air force base. The traffic and detour took forever! I’ve been so busy at work, plus add in some travel, and I’m so far behind in reading and commenting on blogs. I never seem to be able to catch up and I eventually will just fast forward to current posts. Umm…yes, I’ll admit to having a flipflop problem! Thanks for linking with us Judy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You must have been so upset to miss that party!

      Ok, I don’t get flipflops at all. Cute sandals, absolutely, but flipflops are terrible for your feet!

      I have a feeling I’m gonna be missing a LOT of blogs next month, but then things settle down for June.

      Like

  13. Shoes are never a problem and you can’t have to many 🙂 What a pretty weekend for running and your family celebrations, maybe spring is finally there! I have my compressions socks on now- they feel good! Keep up all the great work- you are half ready!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

