It’s not the size of the dream . . .

. . . it’s the size of the dreamer

Okay, I gotta admit, what does that mean? What difference does the size of the dreamer make? Seriously, isn’t the size of the dream really the important thing? One of my favorite quotes from Inception (a fascinating movie if you haven’t seen it) is “you musn’t be afraid to dream a little bigger, darling”.

I used this quote as my title, though, because if you’ve missed it, I’m vertically challenged (short!). My Dad always likes to say that good things come in little packages.

dreamer

What is a dreamer but a planner with big dreams? Seriously?!

Yes, I am definitely a dreamer. Or is that a planner? Seriously, what is the difference?

I loved the quote from Mark Twain — because I do consider myself to be an optimist, mostly — are optimists automatically dreamers?

I’m big into visualization, and if that’s not dreaming in disguise, what is it? Am I visualizing a race before I run it (I do), or am I simply dreaming about it?

I suppose that the real difference is that visualization happens while you’re awake, and dreaming can happen while you’re asleep. But then there are day dreams. Like so much of life, it’s a fine line, isn’t it?

A dream by any other name . ..

Is my dream to run a half in every state just that: a dream? A wish? A goal?

I think of myself not just as a dreamer, but as a dream chaser.
–Sarah Brightman

Yes, Sarah, yes. I do chase my dreams, and not just in running. I dreamed about being an artist, but decided to chase my dream of being a graphic designer instead, and in an unconventional way, too.

You can’t keep a good dreamer down!

Be a dreamer. If you don’t know how to dream, you’re dead.
–Jim Valvano

 

My irony is that I am an optimist, a goal chaser, a day dreamer — and yet, I rarely remember my actual dreams. But being a dreamer isn’t really about our dreams; it’s about reaching for the stars and not letting anyone discourage us from doing so.

Do you remember your dreams?

Do you consider yourself to be a dreamer?

What are you dreaming about right now?

Deb Runs

Come dream with us and join us in the Wednesday Word linkup

11 thoughts on “It’s not the size of the dream . . .

  1. I usually do remember my dreams and I can’t wait to tell people and then I realize that nobody cares..lol

    I also consider myself an optimist!

    I think I may have mentioned this before but I always thought you looked tall in your blog pics! But then again I am only 5 “2”, so most people look tall to me!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

