So ready for sunshine: Spilling over high tea

It’s been a busy week of appointments and getting ready for a race and trying to still rest up so that I get to said race healthy. The weather has been so consistently raw, though, that it’s a pleasure to warm my hands with a mug of tea and spill what I’m thinking about lately.

I am joining up with CocoDeborah, and Lynda for their ultimate coffee date (while sipping my tea).

The Ultimate Coffee Date


If we were enjoying high tea . . .
I would tell you compression socks really work!

I’ve mentioned it before, but I’ve had more than one time when my ankle was achy after a long run. I wore my compression socks and voila! Back to normal.

If we were enjoying high tea . . .
I would tell you that in addition to being a bad daughter like I talked about in my runfessons this month, I’m a bad daughter on my father’s side, too. Or maybe a bad sister?

Besides showing up and helping to pay, I did nothing for my Dad’s 90th luncheon. Zip. Zero. Nada. Not even a card. I stopped doing cards a long time ago; I hated the waste of paper. Cards are cute, of course, and there’s nothing like a hand written note, but most of the time they just get trashed.

It just never even occurred to me to get a card! Really, I am a bad daughter.

But I do give up an entire weekend almost once a month to go see them. Maybe I’m not that bad.

If we were enjoying high tea . . .
I would tell you that we asked our dog sitter about fostering a dog.

I know that she works with rescues. It wasn’t actually my idea, although I probably “fostered” the idea in Mr. Judy, saying some years ago that I’d like to try fostering.

I will admit that I am actually enjoying having one dog. In many ways, it’s a lot easier. One less dog to take to the vet, one less dog to groom, less food to buy, less kongs to make. Not to mention walks don’t take so long. It’s been 15 years since we had just two furkids. 10 years since we had puppies (and 15 since we had kittens).

But it’s fostering, it’s not a forever commitment. And I think Lola would benefit from having a doggie companion again, if we could find the right one. She loves to play, but she didn’t play with the dog sitter’s dog, who is a really good match for her in size and age. She was forever trying to get Chester to play.

Maybe that’s a sign she does miss him?

If we were enjoying high tea . . .
I would you that I my knee was tight after my first easy run after being sick last week. It seemed to loosen up the next day, but there was still some tightness on the next scheduled run, so I taped it, as I also mentioned in my runfessions.

I also taped it for my long run that weekend, but I always tape it for a double digit run.

It felt fine the next day.

Just angry because I wasn’t doing anything (and I do mean anything, activity wise, anyway) except running and walking Lola?

Or those crazy taper phantom pains (despite the fact that I wasn’t quite yet in my taper).

Thankfully now it feels just fine.

If we were enjoying high tea . . .
I would tell you that I really enjoyed having a couple of raised beds last year. And I really want to enjoy it this year, too.

I just haven’t had the energy to get out to the nursery and buy some plants yet.

I’ll have some cilantro, anyway; that reseeded itself. Hopefully a few blueberries; we planted a couple of blueberry bushes last year.

Hmm, maybe we could buy something on our way home from my half?

If we were enjoying high tea . . .
I would tell you that it’s May and I am more than ready for the weather to turn spring-like. Only it’s not cooperating. This past week in particular was really depressing weather-wise: cloudy, raw, rainy, below seasonal temperatures.

Are we paying for a mild winter?

I just want to walk Lola without a jacket (or gloves!), wear shoes without socks, wear one of my dresses without freezing to death, ditch the sweaters already! I’m not talking anything crazy like wearing tanks and shorts and sandals.

Tea? Iced Tea? Coffee? Decaf? Or something else?

Are you tired of what Mother Nature’s been dishing out lately?

31 thoughts on “So ready for sunshine: Spilling over high tea

    1. Oh wow, did I just miss that or did you keep it on the dlo? Another cocker? Can’t wait to see the puppy pics (and better you than me, frankly).

      It’s ok to keep a foster dog. 🙂

      I don’t think anything will happen in May, anyway, we’re away too much this month!

      But finding a dog that is a good match for Lola AND Giz is a tall order.

      Like

  1. I so hear you about looking for Mr. Sunshine. Between seven consecutive days of cold rain with more to come and bad business at work, it’s a mighty depressing time. Nothing a bit of sunshine and a good run won’t cure. Well, except maybe the bad business. 1,148 days until we retire. Unless we hit the lottery. Hanging on.

    No way you could be a bad daughter. Don’t worry about the cards. A hug goes a lot longer way and I’ll be you have a bundle of those.

    We’ll be watching for news on the fostering. I’m like Wendy; I’d get too attached…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. As I’m telling people, rescues are quite happy to let you keep fosters. 🙂 Nothing is happening right now, nothing is likely to happen anytime soon, either, May is a busy travel month for us.

      I hope your weather today was as nice as ours — it was a surprisingly good morning to run — even a bit on the warm side! I didn’t need a jacket!

      Like

  2. The weather here as turned warm and the days are long. I am so happy because the month of April was kind of blah and colder here too, but not raw like in the US, luckily.

    When is your next race ? I hope your knee and ankle feel better. I would keep on wearing those compression socks if they work !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This time next week, I will hopefully be finished with half #12!

      Today actually turned out nice weather-wise. Hoping they got tomorrow’s 90% chance of morning showers wrong, as we head down to my parents with Lola.

      I’m in compression socks as I type. I even iced my ankle like a good little girl after my run today.

      Like

  3. You’re not a bad daughter. There is no way I could foster…I’d want to keep. I’m glad the taping and compression socks work. I do wear compression socks the rest of the day after my long run….kind of a tradition now. Not sure if it helps but it certainly doesn’t hurt any.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am now definitely convinced that compression socks make a big difference.

      Interestingly, though, sometimes it will actually ache more after wearing them — but most of the time it really helps.

      It’s ok to keep a foster animal.

      But I’m pretty good at knowing if an animal is the right fit or not, and it won’t be easy to find us the right fit. Lola has to like it, and it can’t chase Giz!

      Like

  4. No not a bad daughter. I agree about cards though. I prefer doing something a bit more personal that the person would enjoy. Cards tend to get tossed away. Our kids to homemade cards for me and I keep them all and love them. They mean so much more. Yes compression socks do work! I am looking forward to warm weather and much needed natural vitamin D. Have a wonderful and relaxing weekend Judy. Thanks for coffee 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rescues don’t care if you keep a foster. 🙂

      We’ll see, nothing is actually happening on that front right now, we have a busy travel month. Not quite on your scale, but busy for us!

      Like

  5. I’ll take a cup of peach ice tea…maybe that will help mother natuure realize it is Spring!!

    Not a bad daughter at all. Your presence is much more important than a present.

    I want to grow herbs.

    I didnt know fostering a pet was a thing. That could be neat.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Herbs are seriously pretty easy.

      You should have seen the rosemary bushes I had in TX that started out as tiny little 4″ plants!

      Oh yes, rescues really rely on fosters. I’ve never done. Still not sure we actually will — but we’ll see.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Yes I am so sick of the rainy damp weather.

    I used to garden a lot before boating but now we are away so much, they die so I’ve given up – just some patio tomatoes and window boxes on the deck.

    Today turned out surprisingly nice – I was very warm during my race. Tomorrow, I’m not so sure. I really don’t want to run in the rain esp since i’ll b walking a lot.

    I still do buy cards for special friends and family and I enjoy getting them but each each year, I get fewer (TY FB).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t give a lot so I don’t get a lot, but that’s ok. Besides, everyone is always busy on my birthday! I believe you actually share a birthday with one of my uncles, although he has been gone many years.And it’s my brother’s in a couple of days.

      Like

  7. We finally had a nice day today! I didn’t get to spend too much time outside, but I did enjoy some spring sunshine while walking Tiger Lilly. I think I’ll plant some herbs next weekend,

    Liked by 1 person

  8. You don’t sound like a bad daughter to me! I do agree with the cards thing though. I do still buy, but I really don’t see the point. As a recipient, I always feel a bit guilty about recycling them but there is no way we could keep them all.

    That is so exciting about the fostering! Such a lovely thing to do!

    The weather here in the UK hasn’t been great either, though this weekend has been quite Spring like and I managed to go without a coat yesterday.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I worked on my gardens this weekend, with your weather you have plenty of time! The fostering idea sounds interesting, I am thinking my hubby has gotten used to not having a dog in the house so I don’t know if we will ever get another one. Happy Mother’s Day, enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would be very unhappy to not have animals, despite the work and lack of freedom, but I know I’m kind of unusual that way — most people are beginning to give them up at my age!

      As to the planting — yes, we have time — sort of, we have another trip at the end of the month — the problem is that if you don’t buy your plants early, there’s slim pickings.

      There’s just been no time, even if I go right by the nursery after some long runs!

      Like

  10. I love compression socks, too! I swear by them!

    I am a little bit of a hoarder and have LOTS of old cards. But the majority of them do kind of go to waste; I feel bad tossing them so they end up in a junk drawer until I totally forget what they were for and recycle them! I think our parents understand that physical things like cards don’t really matter as much as us being there for them.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Last week was extremely gloomy for us too, with rain every day…I think things are finally clearing up at last! It sounds like fostering a dog would be an amazing experience. It’s definitely something that I’ve thought about as I’m not ready for the full commitment of being a dog-owner! Phantom pains are the worst, hopefully it’s nothing serious! Aw, I would love some blueberry bushes!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

