Zen Organizing: TOLT

Cleaning and organizing is front and center this week, which is pretty funny because I don’t like to clean, and while I like things to be organized, they never seem to stay organized.

I didn’t think I was going to have much to Think Out Loud about this week, and then just a couple of days before this post suddenly a few ideas popped into my mind. They even actually stayed there until I could write them down.

I really do not like cleaning
That is all.

I would have made a terrible mother
My brother always says he thinks I would have made a great mother. Ha!

See #1. I don’t particularly like cleaning up after myself, but you know what’s even worse? Cleaning up after other people.

Don’t ask me why cleaning up after the animals doesn’t bother me. I mean, I’d rather not do that either, but I guess there’s something about the fact that they can’t do it and it needs to be done, so it doesn’t bother me the way cleaning up after humans does.

 

It’s all better now

I want to be that Zen person
I really do. You know, the one who lets little things like a phone repair shop taking three times as long as they said they would and after all that time not handing you back a fixed phone just roll off my back?

 

Well, no, I wasn’t zen about it. At all. I didn’t go all Dr. Jekyll on them, but I made my displeasure well known, well known to the other customers in the shop, and asked for a discount.

When I finally picked up the phone on Monday (yes, this time it got fixed), they said they gave me a discount due to the trouble, but as far as I can tell they billed me the full amount. I didn’t even bother to ask about it, I just wanted out of there as fast as humanly possible.

Why didn’t I just get a new phone?
As I was telling Karen @ Frenchinspiration, part of why I can afford to travel to halfs is that we live below our means in many ways. One of those ways is our cell phones. Heck, until a year and a half ago I didn’t even have a smart phone.

But Mr.Judy found us a plan that doesn’t require a contract, and you can adjust text, phone, and data (all separately) as needed on the fly. And you share the text, phone, and data. Most months we pay less than $30 for both of us.

Including taxes.

We are not power users, though. Clearly.

I wold tell you the name of the plan, only it’s no longer available. We are grandfathered in, for now, at least, but we were pretty sure that they were no longer activating new phones.

So yes, I paid roughly $80 to fix the screen on my phone, but we’ll make that money back quite quickly with our savings on our plan as opposed to finding a new plan and buying new phones.

No doubt someday we’ll have to move on and we’ll be paying more, but it’s nice not to have the pressure to do it right this minute.

 

I can actually see what I have

I became obsessed with Marie Kondo
Have you heard of Marie Kondo? I’ll admit my obsession is similar to my approach to Galloway: I haven’t read her book (although I’ve read some of Galloways), I’m not following everything, but I did become totally obsessed with her folding method a few weeks before I left for my half.

 

So there I was, with a million and one things to do, running around like a nut to all these different appointments, desperately trying to get someone to fix my phone before we left . . . . and obsessively folding all my clothes.

I’m still doing it, by the way. I have a lot of clothes. Far too many, no doubt. Having to hang at the mall for hours the last week didn’t help on that front, either.

But I’m beginning to be able to actually see what I have!

Before I was always hunting for — and sometimes not finding — my tees and tanks even when everything was in drawers and “neatly” folded. It still doesn’t look all that neat, but now I can actually find things!

 

Gizmo is still enjoyng the box

 

And speaking of cleaning . . .
I swear ever day Gizmo takes all the packing paper out of the box, and every day I’m putting all the wrapping paper back in the box.

 

Shh! We’re mediating

 

Calm is the new favorite
Ok, with all the traveling, packing, unpacking, cleaning, phone drama, half, etc., I don’t think it’s been a very calm May.

But I am digging the Calm app. It’s gotten me back into meditating. Although I can’t seem to go more than 5 days before I forget to do it, but sometime I double up on it — shouldn’t that count?

I think it’s a shame that every decent meditation app seems to require a yearly fee. Unless they’re adding all sorts of new stuff, why can’t I just pay a one time fee and be done with it? I still think this app was worth every penny, but some of the meditations are free so you can just stick with those, and at least you get to try them out before deciding whether or not you want to shell out money for the app.

I particularly like that there are a lot of different topics, and each topic has guided meditations in varying lengths, usually 2, 5, and 10 minutes. We all need a short break once in a while, right?

Do you meditate?

Have a favorite meditation app?

Have a good organizing tip?

I’m linking up with Amanda at Running with Spoons for her:

Thursdays are for thinking out loud

16 thoughts on “Zen Organizing: TOLT

  1. Aaah! KonMarie! I started small and did my socks and underwear drawers. I also purged lots of other stuff but haven’t gotten to the folding yet. It is freeing, but like you, cleaning and organizing is not my priority. ; )

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, for not knowing what you were going to talk about, that’s a lot of information !
    I like things organized. And clean. I vacuum every other day. And clean my kitchen daily.
    I have never heard of Marie Kondo, going to check her out.

    I don’t spend a ton of money but I did just invest in a new phone. I love it. It is my lifeline and I only kick myself for having waited so long.

    Thanks for the shoutout !

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hate cleaning in general….check. Hate cleaning up after humans but will do so willing for my kitties….check. Are we sisters?? Check 😉 No, I have not heard of Marie Kondo but will check her out. I would have been totally pissed at the cell phone fix it place and they would have known it. Perhaps I should check out the calm app.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Is it weird that I actually like to clean? I’m not a fan of laundry, and I hate doing the bathrooms, but everything else is fine by me. I think it’s because I don’t like clutter so I go way out of my way to avoid it… including regularly going through my stuff and giving away what I don’t use. Like my wardrobe? Super minimalistic just because too much stuff stresses me out 😆

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know people who like to clean & you guys kind of fascinate me. 😉

      I love the idea of a minimalist wardrobe, but I don’t think it will ever happen!

      I love trying things in all areas of my life!

      Like

  5. I hate to clean too but I hate messes more. I recently organized all my running clothes. I roll them so I can see each one separately. Makes all the difference.

    I think I mentioned before if you put on the Zagg protective screen on your phone, the screen will never break and there’s a lifetime guarantee on it.

    My phone is my lifeline – I use the calendar, notes, wallet for boarding passes, many apps – I can’t believe it took me so long to realize how organized it makes me and I don’t ever use paper anymore. I even blog on it.

    No I don’t meditate. Sit still and think. Nope!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Actually the folding takes up less space than rolling (which I was already doing).

      My phone isn’t my lifeline, maybe because I can’t load much on it, which is why I also have an iPod touch. Really can’t justify the cost of an iPhone.

      I’m not going back to work just so I can get an iPhone. 😀

      Like

  6. I guess I do meditate in a way, but not in the traditional method, and usually when I get home from work. Yeah, May has not been the most relaxing for you, but hey, you’ll appreciate June all that much more, haha!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

