Someday I might swipe your water bottle

water

It could totally happen. Well, no, I don’t think it will, but that doesn’t stop me from thinking seriously about it sometimes. I think races should start to offer bikers carrying water, so when you’re really in need, you just flag them down and they pour you a cup of water. It could be part of the VIP package.

Come back Tuesday and I’ll share with you some of my other dreams for perfect running.

Today I’m joining up with Marcia at Marcia’s Healthy Slice to share my runfessions; come join us and get your runfessions off your chest.

I runfess . . .
A car cut me off, and then proceeded to drive below the speed limit. I got over to the right at the next light with the intention of passing on the right (it’s legal in NY), except then the car took off like a bat out of he%#!

Some cursing and bad thoughts ensued.

I runfess . . .
I keep a handwritten journal of upcoming blog posts. Except I can’t seem to write down the right topic on the right day.

Maybe because I’m near sighted.

I runfess . . .
I gave some serious consideration to swiping someone’s water bottle right out of their hand at my last half.

This is not the first time I’ve had such thoughts.

At least I’ve never acted on them. Yet.

I runfess . . .
I continued to rest and recover for far longer than I needed to after this half.

I guess between all the travel this month, and being sick, I was just kind of worn out and over exercising for a hot minute. It won’t last long; I promise.

I runfess . . .
I was barely moving, yet my hunger was out of control. I don’t know why. I was hydrating well, eating freggies again . . . and baking every day.

Not a good thing when you have another trip coming up in short order.

img_5432
Just after a cut

I runfess . . .
I have given up on my hair. It’s funny the little ways running changes you.

I never washed it every day, but I used to wash it three times a week. Only now it actually often is just one time a week. It is often just too late after a run or whenever I am finished with exercise for the day, because it takes forever to dry. And I don’t like to blow dry it (even though my hairdresser did diffuse it above).

img_5259
This is what it usually looks like

So I shower, skip my hair, and it’s a frizzy mess with pushed back bangs going in whatever direction they want to go, often not in a flattering direction, as you can see in the photo above.

That’s why God created hats, headbands, and braids.

 

Runfession is good for the soul! Come join us

Runfessions

17 thoughts on “Someday I might swipe your water bottle

  1. LOL about wanting to swipe a water bottle. I have often wanted to ask people where they got that shirt, do they like their shorts, etc. but don’t. I am kind of shy that way and sometimes people look so concentrated at the start of the race, I don’t want to bother them.

    I look crappy in a headband and hats which is why I wash my hair every day. And why I cut it short !

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your biker carrying water idea. If that car had cut me off, there would have been plenty of expletives in my car. I don’t think you rested longer than you needed to after the race. You just needed more rest. Nothing wrong with that. I don’t wash my hair every time I shower, but I do use conditioner because otherwise it gets way too knotted. I wish I could have my hair in a pixie again but Greg doesn’t like it that way…why he took 2 years to tell me, I’ll never know.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Guys do tend like longer hair. Lloyd likes mine longer until it gets in the way, which it does sometimes. It’s too bad — you look cute in a pixie!

      My hair doesn’t actually get too knotted, surprisingly, but maybe I’m just unaware because I never brush it.

      Like

  3. Oh, I totally get the hair thing! I’m so at my wits ends with mine, it’s frustrating! Sometimes I sleep with wet hair as I won’t dry it either. Hmmm, maybe I should braid it wet, sleep, and see if that doesn’t tame any frizzies for the next day. Worth a try! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I get cold easily & would be very uncomfortable sleeping with wet hair. When it’s hot, sometimes I’ll sleep in brain.

      Braiding while wet & sleeping that way ought to give you nice waves!

      I can’t do much about the frizzies beyond all the gray.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. First thing…you did not rest/recover too long (after the half) if your body felt tired and worn out. Second….the hair thing. I try to wash mine every-other day, but lately it’s been more like every third day. Since I discovered the “beachy waves” look (created with a flat iron, none the less), that’s been my go-to “one-more-day” style option (with a few blasts of dry shampoo mixed in for good measure). I don’t have an over abundance of oil (anywhere), so it’s not a problem,

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I try to not use a lot of heat on my hair — it’s frizzy without heat!

      I do think I needed that extra recovery after my half, but I don’t know why I couldn’t get myself to do yoga. And I didn’t do it on this last outing, either.

      But I got back to it, I always do! Can’t keep a good woman down. 😉

      Like

  5. Your hair always looks pretty! You know, I have coarse gray (actually solid white) hair. I WISH I could go without washing but it is so thick which causes me to sweat that much more — and is dripping wet with sweat after any activity. It would smell sour, so I wash daily and air dry. Ain’t nobody got time for a blow dry with this thick mess! Anyway, totally jealous you can do that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hmmm. I don’t think my hair ever smells, and yes, some of mine is white & it’s very thick too.

      I only blow dry if I have to go out & it’s really cold — luckily you don’t have to deal with that.

      Like

  6. I have considered taking a sip of other runner’s water, I was really thirsty and I was really hot!

    I think it’s perfectly fine to be really hungry days after a long run, especially a race… I swear to you.. I was hungry non stop for 2 whole weeks after the marathon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

