Respect the court: TOLT

Today I’m Thinking Out Loud about those necessary evils, like going to the dentist and jury duty — both of which fell together this past week.


Lola almost had a play date
I stopped to talk to my neighbor a couple of times this week while walking Lola. One of those times her dog was on a tie-out.

Lola was being her reactive-on-leash self, growling and posturing and circling and sniffing. But we talked for a while and they both got to the point where they were doing play bows to each other.

My neighbor was ready to get them in her backyard to play, but unfortunately that was the day I had the dentist’s appointment and the potential jury duty and there just was not time.

I do think Lola seems bored. Or sad. Or depressed. Mildly, that is. It’s not like there was really that much interaction between her and Chester, but apparently there was enough to make her miss it. Or I think she misses having another dog around.

It’s amazing how we had 2 cats and 2 dogs when we moved here, and now we just have one of each, and I still feel like there’s not enough of me to go around and that I’m not doing right by the both of them.


Are your cats aloof or clingy?
Giz is totally clingy. Oh sure, he sleeps by himself like 20 hours a day, but the other 3 hours he thinks I should be a bed for him.

And God forbid we should go away for the day — which we did twice last week!

He follows me around until I sit down and he can commandeer my lap. It’s both really cute and really annoying.

Lola and Gizmo duke it out midday, when I usually lay down for a bit and watch some of the Today show (which I tape because I’m a morning person and getting stuff done in the morning, so yes, I am often totally unaware of what’s going on in the world, not really insensitive).

Usually Gizmo wins.

Xray exposure
The dentist and dental assistants keep trying to convince me that digital xrays are so much lower in radiation. And I’m sure that they are. I still don’t think it’s necessary to have xrays every year, and I refuse to do so.

Over a long life, that exposure has to add up. I haven’t had a cavity since I can’t remember when, thank goodness.

I do get dental xrays, just not every year.

And speaking of dental assistants . . .
. . . enough with the small talk! I only see you twice a year, and it seems like there’s always a new one anyway. I just want to close my eyes and semi-relax. At least they’re no longer using the water thing that seemed like waterboarding.

I imagine that it’s kind of like TSA agents, they’ve been told to be friendly, but seriously, I’m not really interested in making small talk at the dentist’s office. Which ought to be called the dentist hygienist office; I see the dentist for a grand total of 1 minute.. Thank goodness! Until that bonded front tooth falls off.

As you might have guessed, I had my teeth cleaned this week. And look, Ma, no cavities.

Don’t put me on that jury!
I was not pleased to get a summons for jury duty this week.

I’ve been lucky — this was the first one since we’ve lived here (7 years). When I lived in Austin, I was called every 3 years like clockwork. And I was always chosen as a juror, too, except the very first time (traffic court).

Anyway, this was night court. I was like okay, at least I don’t have to get someone in to watch Lola. And the trials are only supposed to last a day or two. And it happened to actually be really close to where we live — going into downtown for it is a drag.

I was also considering wearing shorts. It’s summer, after all. Except the summons specifically says you should respect the court — and not to wear shorts. Bummer. I was also considering going running first and showing up sweaty from my run. It wouldn’t be shorts; it would be a skirt! Right?!

So for night court, they give you a number to call to see if they need jurors. If they do, you’re supposed to be there at 6 pm. And you can’t begin to call until 4 pm. So I called at like 4:01. And 4:10. And 4:15. And 4:20. They hadn’t changed the message: it still said that they didn’t need any jurors for the 13th (I was called for the 20th).

Geez, what if you work? What if you have a longer drive? I was beginning to envision having to go there because no on was bothering to change the message.

Finally at 4:30 — sweet relief! No jurors needed!

I know there are people who really like jury duty. Obviously I am not one of them.

Going with the flow
Sometimes, no matter how great my idea, no matter how hard I try, I just cannot get my idea across. Or at least I don’t think I’ve done a good job. I know what I want to say, I guess, but not how to word it.

And then there are times, like yesterday’s post, when the words just seem to flow, you just know you’re conveying exactly what you want to, and you are validated when readers get it — and comment on it!

It’s been a busy week, and I had no idea what I was going to write about yesterday. And yet I managed to write a good post, including creating the header graphic, in about 30 minutes.

Why can’t every day be like that?

Speak to me, peeps. Answer a question in the comments or let me know what you’re thinking out loud this Thursday:

 

Do you like being called for jury duty?

Have you ever served on a jury?

How long would your furkids lay on you if you let them?

I’m linking up with Amanda at Running with Spoons for her:

Thursdays are for thinking out loud

15 thoughts on “Respect the court: TOLT

  1. I’ve been called for jury duty twice. I was terrified. Of the commute downtown (I don’t like to drive in the city), of what kind of case I was going to get, of the huge responsibility of having someone’s life in my hands. I was called down to the final pool but as it turned out was not one of those chosen for the jury.

    This past January I WAS chosen. It was a domestic abuse case, violence involve my worst nightmare….knives. I didn’t know how I was going to stand it. But I did. The judge was amazing: patient, gave careful explanations, asked us to trust that even though we were not professionals, our life experiences and common sense would guide us. He was right. As awful as it was, I found it to be an incredibly educational experience and well worth my time and civic duty. I’d really like it to be a one-time experience, but if I got called again I wouldn’t be so frightened.

    Mercedes is very much a lap cat; Nelle, not so much, yet she is quite affectionate. I love it when I walk into our home and they are both waiting at the door!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have served on several juries. The time, and the responsibility. Ugh! I was on one domestic violence case but they settled after a couple of days.

      The only jury I wasn’t picked to be on was a capital murder case. They couldn’t find a jury from our pool, thank God.

      Almost all my furkids have been lap cats/dogs. Lola not as much, but between Simba, Gizmo, & Chester — all clamoring for my lap! It was hard sometimes.

      Like

  2. I don’t like being summoned for jury duty and will claim hardship when they do, especially as I work for a nonprofit who doesn’t reimburse for those days, so kind of lucky there. And my fur babies lay on me until I move or get up… I love the cuddles myself. If I didn’t have a cat on my lap, I wouldn’t know what to do with my hands!! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ha! My furry kids all fight for my lap, well unless Kenny is on the sofa then everyone loves him. My Siamese will make me crazy because he never stops wanting to bump heads lol it is cute, but very annoying.
    The only time i was called I was dismissed right away and it ticked me off. They didn’t want me because I was married to a police officer and I have been the victim of a crime…they thought I would be too judgmental against their client I guess. I just thought it was judgmental of them lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gizmo won’t lay on Mr. Judy. 😦

      Everyone else would, although Chester always chose me first.

      Simba was a very forceful head bumper. Giz is kind of scared of heads, but he’s taken to just giving me a very gentle heat butt.

      I would love to have a get out of jury duty free card! My Dad’s a lawyer, so my mom was never chosen. The grass is always greener . . .

      Like

  4. I’ve been called for jury duty twice, once in Massachusetts and once in Dallas. No lawyer, on either side wants me, and I wasn’t chosen either time.

    Allie cycles between independence and wanting attention. Right now she’s trying to cuddle, but it’s too hot and she leaves only minutes after settling down.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Every lawyer seems to want me. I don’t know why.

      Giz could lay on my lap forever! I can’t sit around as long as he’d like me to. It is nice in the winter, but it can get a bit annoying at times, too. Careful what you ask for, I guess.

      Like

  5. No, I don’t like being called for jury duty. I have been a third alternate once but the case was postponed the first day we met. Good because that would have been a waster of my time unless I killed three of the jurors πŸ˜‰ Malika sometimes sits on my lap but she’s not much of a lap kitty. Callie will sleep next to me at night in the summer and sometimes on top of me in the winter…no laps, though.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I was called for jury duty once and I didn’t get chosen. I think it would be fascinating to serve on a jury.

    My cats are laps cats only when I am busy.

    Since mine is a running blog, I try to only write about running so if I’m not racing, I feel like I don’t anything interesting to say that hasn’t been said before. Maybe it’s because I’ve been writing for 8 years. So I’m staying silent today.

    Like

  7. I’ve read somewhere that the dentist/hygienists talk to you during cleanings to make sure you’re not in obvious pain/to gauge their work!

    When I first got called for jury duty I was proud to do my part, but after nearly being selected I realized I actually don’t think a juried court system is smart. There were so many crazy people in there with me in the final 20 or so, and I just kept thinking “This is a jury of his peers?!” Totally a rigged system.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Pain? for a cleaning? Interesting. I don’t find cleanings painful, just a necessary evil.

      I am not fond at all of jury duty, in cases you couldn’t tell. I come from a family of lawyers, and I didn’t want to be one — I didn’t like that it didn’t matter whether or not you committed a crime, it just matters what the lawyer can prove. 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

