Trust Your Gut: Visceral

visceral

Visceral: coming from strong emotions and not from logic or reason

Oh my goodness, the last two Wednesday Words have just been psychic for me! Because I just had a visceral reaction with Bandit, that something wasn’t right, that something was going to happen. In fact, I said on more than one occasion, what a great dog he is, as long as he doesn’t turn into Cujo.

I know you’re not supposed to put that sort of energy out into the universe, but it was a feeling I just couldn’t shake.

And I can’t help but compare Bandit to Chester. In many ways, he reminds me strongly of Chester, and yet he’s very different, too — in both looks and personality. As I mentioned yesterday, though, I know that Chester, without proper training and careful attention to his issues, could easily have been a Bandit.

Folks, you just gotta trust your gut: nagging ache or bona fide injury? Training too much? Too little? Creepy guy? Right or wrong shoes?

Sometimes our gut, our visceral reactions, are wrong, too. Am I just being overly cautious? Are Bandit’s actions truly just the result of the adjustment to a new home?

Folks, I’ve got to go with my gut on this one, which says while of course this was a huge adjustment for Bandit, there are underlying issues. But I’ve also put in calls to a couple of local trainers in the hopes of getting an in home consultation — we did that once for Chester, although it wasn’t terribly helpful, but this time I have the guidance of another trainer in whom I ought to call.

I don’t know how long it could take to get an appointment. I don’t know if I can wait that long. Of course the longer we keep Bandit without major incidents, the more hopeful we become that things could end well for him.

Although again, my gut is telling me that my own animals are not very happy, especially Lola. She’s upset at the change in her world. Gizmo’s able to go a bit more with the flow, although he doesn’t particularly like having to stay in the laundry room/outside kennel for most of the day.

I’ve always been very visceral in that I feel things very deeply.
— P.J.Harvey

Yes, yes I do. It’s both a blessing and a curse. It would be so, so easy to just say Bandit is a damaged dog, I’ve been advised to put him down, and do so, knowing that I tried my best for him.

It might still come to that, but if it does, I will know in my heart that I did everything I could for Bandit and that he will be with someone who loves him in the end.

Deb Runs

Tell me in the comments:

Have you ever had a visceral reaction to something?

Do you think the right animal finds you at the right time?

What has been your favorite Wednesday Word?

18 thoughts on “Trust Your Gut: Visceral

  1. Trusting your gut, listening to your heart, is one of the strongest and most important lessons learned from my Mom. However it turns out, be at Peace that you listened to your heart and did everything possible to give this poor little tyke a chance, a chance he may yet have. I, too, am thinking of you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wendy, it’s highly unlike she’ll turn into a biter simply because you recognize the problem and are working on it.

      Bandit’s previous owner simply either didn’t realize the extent of his issues (I’m trying hard to give her the benefit of the doubt) or let him have his own way or turned a blind eye to it.

      I believe that he didn’t bite in her home, but there were definitely issues there that are not explained by the adjustment of living in a new home.

      It’s very sad, because he is truly the most awesome dog aside from those issues. But those issues are serious, and very difficult to work through at his age.

      Lola was very well socialized to people when we got her (10 months old), but not so much to dogs, and she has her issues but nothing as serious as Bandiit’s.

      It’s very sad. We so wish we could keep him. Well, excuse me because I haven’t heard back from either trainer I called so I guess I need to call again and leave a much more desperate message.

      Like

  2. Oh, I hope you don’t have to go through putting him down 😦
    These words have been right on target for you – gave you a good outlet. I am sad for Lola.

    Animals find us, well I should my husband, they find him..it is amazing how many he came home with over the years lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. All the broken ones and the ones with poor health seem to find their way to the CRJ home for hopeless animals.

      Well, it’s not quite that bad, but really, would it be so terrible to just have a happy, healthy animal that lives into its old age without issues and goes quietly to sleep one day?

      Like

    1. That’s why we’re having a trainer come in. It’s very hard for us to tell, and we’ve had him less than 2 weeks so we really don’t know him all that well.

      He has made great strides in those 2 weeks — he’s a really smart dog & he doesn’t frustrate easily (a really good thing).

      He’s not super food motivated; a few things he really likes, some things he’ll eat one time but not another, and he refuses his breakfast but generally eats dinner.

      Like

    1. Yes, it’s mentally & physically extremely draining. We’re pinning a lot of hopes on this trainer on Monday. I sure wish she could’ve made it sooner!

      As far as personality — all animals have their own personality; they’re all different, and not only are they all different, they can be different in different homes.

      While I’m sure these issues were always there, he obviously somehow managed to live peacefully with his previous pack.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh wow, that’s a great question! What has been my favorite Wednesday Word? Hmmmm… I think tied for favorite were solitude and dreamer because with both words I wrote about my childhood on the farm, and that brings back fond memories.

    I hope you either find a suitable home for Bandit, or determine that he can be trained to fit in with your family and other pets. Your heart must hurt as you work through his issues and try to help him. He’s lucky you came into his life.

    Thanks for linking up!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am SO sorry. I just gotta say this, did you also meet with a trainer? Don’t get me wrong, I’m not at all against medication. I actually am not sure how we would medicate Bandit, quite frankly, getting him to eat other than certain treats, is a battle in and of itself. He seems to only want to eat real food at night.

      But I do think training + medication is a better combination.

      No matter what, big hugs. I’ve never had an aggressive dog before, and yes, it’s so nerve wracking.

      Bandit hasn’t done anything to me . . . yet. And nothing to my husband, either, not since that first day.

      Like

Leave a Reply

