Friday Five: Five things that make me happy

Today I’m linking up with Cynthia from You Signed Up for What?, Courtney from Eat Pray Run DC, and Mar from Mar on the Run for Friday Five. And the topic is five things that make you happy.

I tend to be mostly a glass half-full girl, so coming up with 5 things that makes me happy is a breeze. I could probably go on & on & on about the things that make me happy. Don’t hate me.

ZOOMA Annapolis 2015 - a scorcher
ZOOMA Annapolis 2015 – a scorcher
  1. Since the focus of this blog is running, races make me happy.  Especially PRs, of course. But I definitely get my runner’s high after a race (unless I’m injured). I may be dragging myself across a hot finish line, posing as if I’m happy because of the finish line photographer, but just give me 10 minutes in the shade (and maybe some food) & I’ll be all bubbly.

  2. Running on a dry, sunny day around 60F, preferably near some water.

  3. Running & chatting with friends.

  4. Anything chocolate, hence the title of my blog. Dessert isn’t dessert if it doesn’t have chocolate in it. Even better, chocolate + nut butter.

  5. Sushi. My husband likes to joke that introducing me to sushi was the worst thing he ever did. He assumed I wouldn’t like it. The joke was on him because I don’t like it, I love it. It is my preferred prerace meal.

  6. Chester & Lola in the Austin bluebonnets
    Chester & Lola in the Austin bluebonnets

    And here’s a bonus: my fur kids. That’s Chester (left) & Lola back when we lived in Austin. Austin & bluebonnets made me happy, too. Below is Gizmo (left) & Simba (sadly, we lost Simba to lymphoma a few years ago). Yes, they were brothers. I made that cat bed, by the way. Chester loves it.

     

    Gizmo & Simba cuddling
    Gizmo & Simba cuddling

And now I feel a little like Julie Andrews.

18 thoughts on “Friday Five: Five things that make me happy

  1. Great list. Races make me happy too. Yes, PRs are fantastic and so it a good medal, but just running a race is so much fun, even tough ones.

    Like

  2. Love your Julie Andrews reference…

    I love bubbly people around me. We would be fast friends! Chester and Lola are a-dor-a-ble. I have Mojo and Mini (both small mixed-breed dogs) who are characters, let me tell you. So sorry about Simba.

    Like

  3. Great list! Your pets are all so cute! I love all things chocolate as well! As a pastry chef, it is quite a challenge not to eat all the things at work. In terms of running, I couldn’t agree more with #1-#3. Have a great weekend!

    Like

    1. Thanks! We waited a long time to get dogs because of circumstances& I was ready to give Chester back at first . . . that dog has been one problem after another . . . but I love them all.

      Like

Leave a comment