5 Summer Drinks

It’s summer. It’s easy to drink up in the summer! I actually just drink water most of the time, but there are a few other things I do enjoy.

Today I’m linking up with Cynthia from You Signed Up for What?, Courtney from Eat Pray Run DC, and Mar from Mar on the Run for the 5 summer drinks.

Runnin' of the Green Beer Glass
Runnin’ of the Green Beer Glass

Chocolate Cherry Smoothie
That’s not actually a photo of my Chocolate Cherry Smoothie above, but you get the idea. Throw together in a blender:

1 frozen banana
1/2-1 cup frozen cherries (I just eyeball it)
1 scoop chocolate protein
Some greens
1 cup almond milk

Blend and voila! Yum. Very refreshing after a run. It will look dark purple, not green, & you won’t taste the greens unless you put in too much – start small.

Chocolate Chia Shake

This particular shake is from the Detoxinista cookbook, Everyday Detox. It’s like a chocolate milkshake. She has a similar recipe on her website here.

Republic of Tea Chocolate Yerba Mate
Ok, this is more a winter thing. You got me. It’s kind of like having a hot chocolate before your run. I make it with almond milk instead of water to make it more hot chocolate-like.

Water with Nuun post run

I am always amazed at how good things taste after a run. I’m not big on sweet water, but pop a Nuun tablet in your postrun water and it’s a super refreshing way to replenish your electrolytes.

Infused water
Infused water

Speaking of sweet water, I made some infused water the other day that was really refreshing: water with kiwi, blueberries & cucumbers.

Yogi Green Muscle Recovery Tea
I like to drink this after a hard run, or whenever I feel my joints/muscles need a little TLC (like today).

Do you find it easier to get in enough fluids in summer or do you still have to work at it?

8 thoughts on “5 Summer Drinks

    1. Green tea, water, & the occasional smoothie are all I drink. The only time I seriously got out of whack was the Heartbreak Half last year. Terrible cramps until I ate something salty (it was a hot day). I had no problem at Annapolis this year, other than the heat sucking the life out of me.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I am not a water drinker since I don’t sweat much but in the summer, I really crave water before & after a run. I like it just plain.

    Like

Leave a comment