Running Friends

Deb Runs

According to Merriam Webster, a friend is:

: a person who you like and enjoy being with

: a person who helps or supports someone or something (such as a cause or charity)

So I wrote in my weekly recap about my knee twinges. And skinnyrunning called me out on it. In a nice way. That maybe it was time to rest a bit more.

That’s what running friends do — even the ones that you’ve never met — they call you out & point out when it’s time to scale back or take a break. They understand what it’s like to want to follow your plan, but point out when it might not be in your best interest.

I moved from TX (where we had lived for 17 years) to upstate NY six years ago. I’m a shy person and making friends has never been easy for me. I’ve never had a big group of friends, and that’s okay, but starting over at 50, when you don’t work and you don’t have kids, isn’t easy.

I also wasn’t a runner when I moved here. I had just begun to try, and I became more serious about it when we moved. Not to mention it was a great way to work off the stress of that move (and my dad’s brain surgery, and my cat’s short battle with lymphoma, and pretty much anything else that is stressful in my life).

Is it any wonder that most of the friends I have made since we moved are runners?

Seriously, runners may seem intimidating, but for the most part, they are the most supportive people I know. People who can literally run rings around me do nothing but encourage my running and cheer me on when I have a PR or commiserate with me when I have a bad race.

Don’t be intimidated by runners if you’re a new. And if you do have a “run”-in with an unfriendly runner, please know that they are the exception, not the norm. Try another group or meet up with other runners.

To the world you may be just one person, but to one person you may be the world. — Brandi Snyder

To all my runner friends, both virtual and in real life, thank you. You’re the best.

Don’t you think runners are the friendliest people?

17 thoughts on “Running Friends

  1. Of course runners are the friendliest! I didn’t realize what I said impacted you so much. But as friends we should look out for one another. I moved abroad a few years ago and I sympathize with having to start over too. But you are never too old to make new friends – virtual or in-person. I am not terribly social either but maybe that’s why the solitude of running is appealing.

    Like

    1. Actually, I prefer to run in a group. Probably because I spend most of my time by myself. But it’s hard to find people at the right pace.

      That’s the beauty of the internet – you never know who you will impact. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I definitely think that runners are super nice. I think that somehow they GET it. I only started running a year ago but have developed so many running friends, that was an unexpected benefit!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes, running friends are great! If I had to make new friends, mine would be running ones too. I’ve lived in this area since 1971 and in the state my whole life.

    Like

    1. It’s amazing to me that with such a large circle of friends, you’re willing to expand your circle. Not everyone is like that.

      I’ve lived in NY more than half my life – in 3 different cities, if you count college.

      And 3 other states.

      Like

  4. Thank goodness for runner friends — they are the only ones who don’t tell me I’m crazy when I talk about running!

    Like

  5. I love that Brandi Snyder quote – thanks for sharing it! I agree that most runners are incredibly nice and thoughtful people, and it makes me really sad when you meet that exception. I don’t like it when one person gives the rest of us a bad name. 🙂

    Thanks for linking up!

    Like

  6. I agree! I’ve found so much support and encouragement from the on-line running community, and love the running friends I’ve made “in real life.” Sorry about the knee twinges but rest is never really a wrong answer (I need to learn that myself!).

    Like

  7. You are so right I haven’t even really thought about the fact that so many runners way faster than me encourage me to no end! I too agree if you run across a runner who is anything but friendly and encouraging they are not the norm! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I definitely think runners are some of the friendliest and most accepting group of people! It’s a tight knit community, and a very supportive one. In my experience, we all celebrate each others accomplishments, regardless of skill level. It’s a community I’m very happy I am part of!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment