Accountable

Deb Runs

A beautiful woman must expect to be more accountable for her steps, than one less attractive
–Samuel Richardson

This quote caught my eye. Samuel Richardson was apparently an English novelist who lived in the 17th-18th centuries. I’ve never heard of him. And I am puzzling over this quote; which is one of the reasons I love Deb’s wednesday word — it makes me think.

This was not at all what I planned to write about when I say accountable was the wednesday word. It makes me wonder, too, if sixteenth century men favored beautiful women.

I find that hard to believe, though: marriages back then were usually about political gain — in the upper classes. In the lower classes, it could be about material gain, a good breeder, or a good worker.

Perhaps the meaning of the quote is that a beautiful woman is more watched, and a less attractive woman can melt into the background. And yet, beauty isn’t just about what’s on the outside; we all know people who may not be what society deems to be beautiful, but they have a confidence, a spirit, that just makes them appear beautiful.

What popped into my head when I saw the word accountable? That if you have a goal, you need to have someone/thing to be accountable to to achieve that goal — even if it’s just yourself. But having someone else to be accountable to usually works better; you’re willing to work harder to please someone else than you are to please yourself, as twisted as that sounds.

That is part of why Weight Watchers works for me. I don’t own a scale; I need the accountability of going to a meeting once a week and weighing in. That isn’t the only reason I go to Weight Watchers, but it is an important one.

I need the accountability of tracking my food. I love the people who don’t need to do that, but for now, for me, I need to do that.

When it comes to running, I am very self motivated. I rarely skip runs, or shorten runs, or have too much trouble getting myself out the door (or on the treadmill). I am prone to procrastinating on starting my run without the accountability of meeting someone for a run; I admit that. Which often leads to not getting the things I planned to get done, done.

I also like being accountable to a plan, whether it’s one I purchased, one I found in a book/magazine, or one I made up on my own.

In which areas of your life do you need to be accountable to someone/thing?

22 thoughts on “Accountable

  1. Interesting quote.

    I think I read it the same way you do as a woman of beauty is often watched she needs to be mindful of what she does.

    I am in need of accountability for sure most times! If I don’t talk about what I want to do, I don’t have the will power to hold myself accountable at all…I need someone(s) to check in and check up on me.

    I have heard WW is a great accountability program. I am glad it works for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. WW has been struggling as a company, so I hope that Oprah can use her Oprah effect on it.

      I’ve been a lifetime member for about 25 yrs! Except not at my goal weight for most of that time.

      The last few years is the first time I’ve been stayed pretty close to my GW consistently in my life!

      Like

  2. Oh that is an interesting quote by Samuel Richardson. I also know ppl that swear by WW too! I am being more accountable to NOT doing business stuff during family time! I actually deleted email from my phone! Yikes!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I need accountability for everything. I have to log food, I need to follow a running plan… well, maybe I just like to have things planned, lol. If I have a plan, I feel things are more likely to get done. I don’t like to let myself down, :).

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh my do I ever need the accountability. I have been beating that into myself lately. I have to learn to be accountable about my accountability lol.

    Like

    1. It’s not easy, and I’ve been at it for decades!

      I just know that I feel better and am happier when I’m at a healthy BMI (even though that doesn’t really tell the whole story), so for me, it’s worth doing the work.

      Like

  5. When I have a running goal or am training for a race, I often feel most accountable to my running log. Even more so than other people or the Internet, my running log holds me accountable. I don’t like telling it that I skipped a run or workout 🙂

    That quote had me a bit baffled! I think I read it at least three times. I’d think what the author was getting at is that people pay attention to beautiful women, so they’re more accountable because people see their every move. Whereas less beautiful women don’t get as much attention and can therefore get away with things. But who knows!?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. From the comments left of my post, most people seem to have more trouble holding themselves accountable in their eating than their fitness – myself included. Let’s face it, I like to eat and I love sweets. I’ve heard good things about Weight Watchers. It’s important that weight loss programs focus on well balanced diets rather than strict restrictions.

    Thanks for linking up!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment