I love you, Old Faithful, but let’s not see so much of each other!: 1/25-31 Weekly Wrap

Hello February! February tends to have the worst weather of the winter and I should know — my birthday falls in it. As my mom likes to remind me, she almost didn’t make it to the hospital because of a snowstorm and I was almost born in the car.

Almost.

Although at least the first half looks to keep mild, and I for one am extremely thankful for that!

Old Faithful, by the way, is what I call my treadmill. Because it’s going on 16 years old! Except I was unfaithful to it this week — it was warm enough that I ran outside for all my runs this week.

 

WeeklyWrap

Workouts update

  • Monday: 3 mile speedwork (800m/3 minute recovery), Dogwalk, 10 mnute bike, 10 minute core, YFPR Hips & Knees
  • Tuesday: Dogwalk x2, Blast Belly Fat, TIU Total Body Toning, YFR Hips
  • Wednesday: Gaiam AM Stretch, 5 mile progressive (was supposed to be medium effort, but ended up being negative splits), dogwalk
  • Thursday: Dogwalk, 10 min 20/10 Tabata bike warmup, TIU Band Burn x 2, YFR Hips
  • Friday: YFR Hamstrings, 4-5 mile trail run (due to getting lost), Dogwalk, Strong Stride Arms, YFR Foundation
  • Saturday: Lots of walking with Lola; went to my parents, no formal exercise
  • Sunday: Again, a lot of Lola walking (my parents don’t have a fenced in yard), 3 1/4 mile easy run with 5 x 20ish second strides

Mileage: 16.25? (=.25)

TIU = Tone it Up
TM = Treadmill
YFR = Yoga for Runners
WU = warmup
YFPR = Yoga for Pain Relief

Running update
It warmed up this week so I broke up with the treadmill, as I said. I’m sure it’s temporary; winter is far from over, most likely just getting started!

My runs this week were good; they just didn’t quite go as planned. I was really pleased with my speedwork, which ended up with an average pace of 12 mm (good for me). That medium paced run on Wednesday just turned into negative splits; I guess Chester was pacing me (read about it here).

Yes, I went to different places this week to run. Because I could! And Friday it was Pine Bush Preserve.; my first time there. It’s trails. I got lost in the end. When it started to snow. You can read more about that on my Facebook page.

 

Croque Monsieur and beet salad

Weekend Favorites
It was a busy weekend — we went down to see my parents, and went out to dinner to celebrate my sister & BIL’s birthdays & anniversary & my upcoming birthday. We all agreed the restaurant we went to was good, not great.

My husband didn’t want dessert and I didn’t want a whole dessert, so I just had one bite of my sister’s molten lava cake which was, yeah, good not great. I was pretty full from dinner so one bite was enough.

 

By Vassar College golf course — my parents live behind it!

I was seriously surprised how many steps I got in over the weekend without any formal exercise other than a 3.25 run Sunday. I got halfway through it and really was almost disappointed because I was just warming up! Who am I?

My parents don’t have a fenced in yard, though, so I walked Lola almost constantly, it seemed. In my pajamas and a down coat Sunday morning because I wasn’t expecting her to want to walk then!

 

Walking Lola on the walkway

We stopped off at the Walkway over the Hudson on the way home. We’d been there once before, but it was too hot for the dogs that day. We still didn’t walk all the way across, but we got much further.

 

Mid Hudson Bridge

The Mid Hudson Bridge always says “home” to me!

And that’s a wrap!

What says home to you?

24 thoughts on “I love you, Old Faithful, but let’s not see so much of each other!: 1/25-31 Weekly Wrap

  1. February is a tough month… by now I feel so over winter and there are some nice days but I also know it can turn cold and snow again at any time. and I just want spring and sunshine and warm! 16 years is really impressive for a treadmill! Happy birthday month!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I never really consider the whole month to be mine. 🙂

      February just usually has the worst weather, but it ain’t starting off bad — almost 50F today, which is steamy for upstate NY!

      Like

  2. Glad you had a nice visit with your parents. I love walking that bridge. Someday I’ll drive down to do my long run there. The last time I walked 11 miles and we didn’t get to the end.

    It wasn’t that warm here yesterday at least during the race but it was the windchill.

    You have great willpower. I always have dessert when I go to a restaurant. (But at least I don’t have sweets at home.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It wasn’t a matter of will power, really. The food wasn’t great, and if it’s not great, I’m not going to waste my calories on it.

      Plus I had a very rich dinner and I didn’t do any exercise that day at all (although I did almost make it to 10,000 steps which surprised me).

      Like

  3. I was able to run outside too, but I know we’re not out of winter yet. Texas winters are all over the place, and February has proven to be the month with ice storms. Gotta get outside while I can.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It sounds like a lovely weekend visit with your parents. How fantastic you were able to run outside last week. I looked at the Walkway Over The Hudson website. What a cool place to go. I hope you plan to celebrate your birthday all month long! One of my teens turned 18 and we’ve been eating on Red Velvet Cake for days now. I’ll be glad when it’s all gone. Thanks for linking with us Judy!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, no, I don’t have plans to celebrate all month long.

      Birthdays don’t bother me — not yet, anyway, my sister said wait til you turn 60 (but I think she said that about 50, too, & our life circumstances are very different).

      But I will be celebrating the day.

      No red velvet for me all month long!

      Like

  5. Sounds like a great week. Lola is good motivation to enjoy the break in the weather. The bridge area is really pretty, i would enjoy walking there. 16 years is along TM life, it has been faithful 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s pretty, but not really all that exciting.

      I tried to figure out a way to run while my husband was walking Lola, which would have been fun, but then I’d be in sweaty running clothes for another 90 minutes.

      Like

  6. “What says home to you?” I love that question! For me, seeing the Exit 118 sign on south Interstate 81 says home to me. It’s the exit to Virginia Tech, and nothing makes me happier than spending a weekend with Bill there! 🙂

    Hope you have a fabulous week, and can continue to run outside!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. When we lived in VT, I used to be very nostallgic when we drove home, because it took us through Lake George, where I’d spent many summers with my family.

      Unfortunately I’ve been feeling meh the last couple of days, so I took a couple of unscheduled rest days.

      I plan to run tomorrow, but there’s a forecast for 100% rain so I’ll probably be back on the treadmill.

      Hopefully my other 2 runs this week will be outside!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. You had a busy week and sounds like a fun weekend. I can’t believe your treadmill is 16 years old, that is amazing! Glad you were able to run outside, fresh air is so good for the mind and soul 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sounds like Lola kept you moving this week for sure! My dogs walk with me course they are loose but they still for the most part stay with me on our little road. Wow you’ve been good to your treadmill for it to last that long huh? So what day in February is your birthday and how long is that bridge? I know I’m just full of questions. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think the bridge itself is a couple of miles? But it hooks up to some rail trails, too, which I haven’t explored (because we’re always visiting, and my parents can’t do that sort of stuff anymore).

      My birthday’s a holiday, let’s just leave it at that. 🙂

      Course there are several holidays in February!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Also, it was weird — today it’s raining. A lot. Our little princess doesn’t like rain. She went out 5:30 am (before the rain, which is also much earlier than she normally goes out) and I was finally able to coax her out just now (12:17)!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment