Inspire people by captivating them

captiavate

Capitavate: To attract and hold the attention of someone by being interesting, pretty, etc.

Do you ever feel boring? Like who in the world would take an interest in little ole me? Or how about when you have to attend a social event where you don’t know anyone — what the heck will you talk about that will captivate anyone?

The standard ice breaker, of course, is “so what do you do”? It seems that everyone these days defines themselves by the job they hold. I think I’ve mentioned before that Mr. Judy used to love to captivate people by telling them I was a stripper. Completely true, too. Except that used to be a job in printing, because God knows my dance skills are less than captivating.

For a long time I didn’t have anything to say when someone asked me what I did, as I stopped working a decade ago. At an outside job, anyway, I definitely I work pretty hard somedays!

Then I started to run. While I can’t say that really made it any easier to captivate people, it was at the least mildly interesting, especially when I would say I’d never run a mile before my late forties, and it seems that everyone you talk to is either a runner or a person who loves to say they could never run.

Once I decided to try to run a half marathon in every state? Ah yes, now I have something that can captivate an audience. To me it doesn’t really seem that captivating, since so many runners are trying to do it.

And yet it captivates many people, runners and non-runners alike.

In fact, I don’t think anyone has ever said to me: Why in the world would you want to do that? Unlike running itself, where everyone loves to tell you why it will ruin you, I don’t think I’ve ever had anything less than a positive response (and some awe) when I tell people that’s what I’m trying to do.

I hope, with my facebook page and this blog, that I can captivate people with my journey, and inspire them to get healthy and dream big. As I always like to say, if I can do it, anyone can. I believe that.

I’m not a gifted runner or athlete, I’m just an ordinary middle aged woman who decided to try something new. And stick with it.

One thing I know for sure
The Olympics will captivate the world for two weeks. You knew I had to go there, right? One story I just heard, and I don’t know whether or not it’s actually true, is that the world’s fastest man, Usian Bolt, has never run a full mile.

And yet his amazing speed will captivate us all.

Talent grips us. We are overtaken by the beauty of Michelangelo’s sculpture, riveted by Mariah Carey’s angelic voice, doubled over in laughter by the comedy of Robin Williams, and captivated by the on screen performances of Denzel Washington.
— John C. Maxwell

 

 

Deb Runs

Tell me in the comments:

What Summer Olympic sport captivates you?

Do you talk about your training with new people you meet?

What else captivates you?

23 thoughts on “Inspire people by captivating them

  1. Your story has certainly captivated many, including me. I’ve met many other runners on my journey, from near and far, some never bother to connect. You are among the handful that did and that I count among my friends.

    If someone new that I meet shows any interest, yes, I tell my running story. It’s a huge part now of who I am, whom I’ve become.

    Although my goals are not as lofty as yours, and that’s okay, our journeys are remarkable similar. I started to run in my late (at 59, latest!) fifties and am no speed demon, either/ I agree that if we can do it, anyone in relatively good health and with determination, can do it as well.

    I lost interest in the Olympics a long time ago, but will surely be keeping an eye on the runners.

    I am captivated, among other things, by Nature’s beauty and Peace, by the well written word, by a lovely melody or even cutting edge music, by the joy of my needle art, by time well spent with beloved family and friends.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I used to really like the gymnastics but now I just watch the distance running. Training only comes up if I’m actually training for something. Captivating….books, movies, my kitties.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love gymnastics. That is, to watch, not to do. The uneven bars, horse, and balance beam always freaked me out!

      I once had a teacher who coached me through a roll?? not sure what you call it, but like tumbling in gymnastics, on the balance beam.

      Basically to prove that anyone can do it. I hated every minute of it though!

      Like

  3. I love to watch the gymnastics. The running doesn’t captivate me, however.

    I don’t talk to non-runners about running. They just don’t get it.

    Nature captivates me also that’s why I like to hike and to travel.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have often wondered that about Usain Bolt….how competitive he (or any sprinter) would be running a longer distance? And, how long he could sustain his lightning-fast speed before he’d crash (or if he’d just progressively slow down)? None the less, he certainly captivates me!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love the stripper story! I often have to talk to people that I don’t know because of my hubby’s job- it is tough! Sometimes i am happy when they just wander off! LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Omgosh– a stripper— i love it! Its actually a pet peeve of mine that so many ppl will ask what you do as their initial question– i guess its an ice breaker of sorts and i doubt ppl mean any harm by it! I like to wait to get to know someone and then guess what they do–its a fun game for me!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I like Mr. Judy’s sense of humor!! I get asked that question often and have no good answer. I just have a job, it isn’t a career job.
    You know other than running, I don’t really have a thing except cats maybe lol but mostly people think I am a little crazy for both.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually do have a lot of hobbies, but most aren’t super interesting.

      Somehow people always have an opinion when you say you run, and it sometimes seems more people are runners than aren’t, or are thinking about it.

      I have definitely been called a crazy animal person. Right now I just feel crazy!

      Like

  8. If we met for the first time at a party, you would definitely captivate me with your stories about your goal to run a half in every state.

    Right now Simone Biles is captivating me with her floor exercise!

    Thanks for linking up!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am a day late with the Olympics, because I just can’t stay up that late — can’t wait to see all the female gymnastics! but man, I feel like all I do is watch tv during the Olympics!

      Like

Leave a comment